• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Monroe County Fire...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thorny41587

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2004
Messages
207
Location
Holland, OH
I used to live in Monroe County about four years ago and Station 47 was dispatched as Lambertville, I just started listening on the patch on 159.09 from thier junk TRS and now they're dispatched as 47 Bedford. Why is this? thanks.
 

rdale

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Joined
Feb 3, 2001
Messages
11,356
Location
Lansing, MI
Lambertville was the old designation - now 30 and 47 are both called Bedford.
 

Thunderbolt

Global Database Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,834
Location
Ann Arbor, Michigan
While were on the subject, let's not forget Station 56 that use to the the old Samaria Fire Dept. I believe that designation has recently been reserected as part of the new Bedford Twp. Fire Dept. ?

73's

Ron
 

pdale

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2004
Messages
14
Location
Lambertville, MI
Station 56 is indeed the new Bedford Twp. "headquarters" station located on Lewis Avenue. It responds with a rescue unit and/or an engine. The station does not yet respond on it's own due to manpower needs, but it does respond with 30 or 47 depending on the location and type of call.
 

SEMTTP

Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
1,023
Location
Ypsilanti Michigan
X1536 said:
I just started listening on the patch on 159.09 from thier junk TRS and now they're dispatched as 47 Bedford. Why is this? thanks.
Their Junk TRS??? It happens to be one of the better systems. Monroe was the first simulcast digital system in the state, and it has very good coverage. I am in ypsilanti and hear it just fine off a beam pointed south. You do not indicate where you are located to make a statement like that. Their system is a very good system, regareless what everyone says. If you have a proper setup and are close to monroe, then you will hear it, otherwise it will be the same as Detroits system, you simply will not be able to hear it.

Saying that it is a junk TRS though is simply not correct. The system is working just like it should.
 

seamusg

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
2,181
Location
Grand Blanc, MI
X1536 said:
I live on Holland, in Lucas County... it's about 20 minutes south of Sylvania.
You're too far south to get the Monroe Co. simulcast. A simulcast system is designed to keep it's signal in it's area. The Detroit, Monroe and Genesee Co. simulcasts can't be received very well outside of their areas.
 

GTO_04

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
1,778
seamusg said:
You're too far south to get the Monroe Co. simulcast. A simulcast system is designed to keep it's signal in it's area. The Detroit, Monroe and Genesee Co. simulcasts can't be received very well outside of their areas.
Would the same apply to an EDACS simulcast system? I have certainly observed that to be the case. Once I leave my home county the EDACS reception drops noticeably. I can still pick it up but there is a distinct drop in signal quality.

GTO_04
 

seamusg

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
2,181
Location
Grand Blanc, MI
GTO_04 said:
Would the same apply to an EDACS simulcast system? I have certainly observed that to be the case. Once I leave my home county the EDACS reception drops noticeably. I can still pick it up but there is a distinct drop in signal quality.

GTO_04
Probably worse since the Motorola P25 simulcasts seem to have a wall on their boarder. At my daughter's house on the Genesee, Oakland Co. boader, reception is very choppy on the Genesee Co. simulcast.
 

rjschall

Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
46
Just another quick note about monroe county fire, the county board of commissioners have agreed to purchase around 350 Motorola Minitor V pagers so they can get rid of the Minitor I and II pagers. Crystals of the 159.090 frequency would've been needed to put in those pagers but were not guaraneteed to work. So it was the decision of the county, with the help of my fire chief who was greatly pushing this issue since our pager failure back in March and we are finally getting somewhere. This way with the Minitor V's they can be computer programmed with the 159.090 frequency and the reception is much clearer since it's already being used across the 4 towers in the county, plus all the pagers will have the "all tone" feature so if we get severe weather, all the pagers in the county will be set off at once by one tone instead of toning out each individual departments which takes about 12 minutes. I am glad that this finally went through. But the biggest problem is that the new frequency can only be used by central dispatch and them only. Since we do a "re-tone" on all calls anyways, we arent allowed to do that because we are not licensed to do so, so we cannot rebroadcast our calls. Plus they cannot set off our tone that sets the fire sirens off in each town! I hope that kink gets worked out real soon to avoid any further problems but I'm glad to see that there is progress. I'll keep everyone updated if anything further comes through!
 

VolCapt

Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
19
What's going on with the PL on the new frequency? I had 118.8 programmed in and noticed a few days ago that I wasn't picking up any calls on 159.090, only 154.430.

I put the Pro-96 on CT Search tonight and it seems to be scrolling through several different PL codes each time they tone somebody out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top