moto type 2 systems??

Status
Not open for further replies.

goot1360

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
7
Location
Portland Oregon
i use my comp to program my 996p2.but sometimes when a channel is active i get some static in the transmission.sometimes it also comes and goes during the transmission this seems to just happen on random channels? help? thanks!.
 

W8RMH

Feed Provider Since 2012
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
7,976
Sometimes certain frequencies may experience interference, whether it is the base transmitter or a mobile input transmission. This is in the system itself and is not your scanner.
 

goot1360

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
7
Location
Portland Oregon
Ok .Thanks so much for the info! I was wondering if it was something that I was doing wrong in the programming . I'm not an expert by any means but I do have the ability to program it by hand and by computer. and I did it both ways. Thanks again for the info!
 

goot1360

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
7
Location
Portland Oregon
Yea that's what im listening to .portland moto type2 public safety. and it does sound like that kind of like a rushing sound
 

goot1360

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 13, 2016
Messages
7
Location
Portland Oregon
also does it matter if i program all the portland control channels in?? that are
(not highlighted in red or blue) ?? will it effect anything?? or is it ok to do that? or even necessary ?? thanks
 

ofd8001

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
6,295
Location
Louisville, KY
It comes down to a matter of personal preference on whether you program only the identified primary and alternate control channels of "everything" (primary/alternate control channels and voice channels). The scanner will receive just fine if only the highlighted control channels are programmed.

That said, if its a system I want to be certain I don't miss something, I'll program all unless I'm up against a memory limit issue. While it is unlikely that a "stray" control channel is used (one not highlighted) it is possible. So I take the cautious route.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top