• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Moto XTL 2500 volume

ozzie

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 3, 2003
Messages
175
Location
mn.
Does this radio have a volume pot in the radio? If so can it be adjusted by a service tech for a low volume situation.
 

FoxMcCloud

Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2019
Messages
64
Do you mean like an internal one? Or an user accessible adjustable knob on the radio head?
 

N4DES

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,205
There is a "minimum volume setting" that is under Radio Wide - Alert Tones, if that is what you mean.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
14,654
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
Does this radio have a volume pot in the radio? If so can it be adjusted by a service tech for a low volume situation.
I think if you described your issue in more detail, someone could help you.
If you are experiencing low audio volume, that could be a number of issues. Incorrect bandwidth, mis-adjusted radio, etc. Kind of hard for us to answer.
 

ozzie

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 3, 2003
Messages
175
Location
mn.
The speaker is new. The radio has been tuned and aligned.
 

jim202

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2002
Messages
2,669
Location
New Orleans region
Let me try to narrow down the issue some, so we might be able to help you.

Is the receive audio out of the speaker too low? If so, what type of signal are you trying to receive? What type of service is it, like public safety? What frequency band are you talking about?

Who programmed the radio for the frequencies your having trouble with?

These questions will help in trying to figure out where to look for the source and or cause of your audio problem.
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,894
Location
So Cali
Do like one city PD dispatcher did to the fire radio. Taped three pieces of cardboard over the speaker.

Seriously, you can add a series resistor in place of the "internal speaker jumper".
 

K2NEC

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
1,473
I think the problem is that the volume is too low not that it's too high.

OP hasn't been active in over 2 weeks so who knows

P.s. That's funny haha
 
Top