Motor Vehicle Collision in Hamilton

Status
Not open for further replies.

XBrandonEdwardX

Telecommunications
Hey everyone,
I am very interested in learning more about something that happened today and I figured this would be the community to ask since I have no experience with P25, Fleetnet or anything else...

Today in Hamilton, there was a motor vehicle collision involving two cars. I witnessed it and I called emergency services to the scene as one of the cars had a three year old in the back seat when they were hit from the side by a car going through a red light. Long story short police arrived and told the driver of one car that they would need a tow truck because he car is not drive-able. About 5-10 minutes after that a tow truck showed up to the car that didn't need it. He pulled right up and was even told that it was the wrong car, so I told him that the car around the corner is the one that needs a tow truck.

As the tow truck driver was going around the block, the police officer came around and I told him that the tow truck was there and that I just sent him around the corner; I was under the impression that it was the one the police called. The police officer informed me that the tow truck was not theirs and was not called in by any one of the drivers either. Now if I remember correctly I watched a journalism documentary where they did a story on tow truck drivers and that in Ontario it was illegal for them to show up to a scene without being called by either police or the drivers. He did say that he "Was in the area and decided to stop to make sure everyone was okay"....

Now my question is one, is it illegal for him to be on location without being called? And two, how did he hear about it if Hamilton police are encrypted and no other services like EMS or Fire were called in? This sparks an interest for me because I have an interest in knowing how he or his dispatchers got the information that there was even an accident in the area.

mclove