• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Motorola Astro Spectra programming cable

Status
Not open for further replies.

thecircusbear

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 7, 2016
Messages
21
Hello, I have a Motorola Astro spectra. It's a w-4 control face. ID D04KKF9PW4AN. I was wondering as to what programming cable I should be using along with the RIB. Also, CPS, version and whether or not an XP operating system can be used to program this radio. Thank you for your help!
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,894
Location
So Cali
Astro Spectra uses the same cable as the Spectra, in this case a 15 pin plug on the radio and with the built in serial cable, AKA "RIB less" cable.. Avoid the dammend old Motorola RIB, lots of cables that do not require the RIB.


The CPS runs just fine on XP

Note: The R.I,B. radio interface did not comply with the RS 232 Serial standard.
 

KI7OGT

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
12
I am also trying to program an Astro. Should I start another thread, or ask here?
 

KI7OGT

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
12
10/4, thanks.

I've been beating my head against the wall trying to read a couple of these radios (will provide model numbers tomorrow, when they are in front of me)

I am using Windows 10 (on a laptop with a real serial port), which so far has been able to use all of the CPS for many radios (CP200, HT1250, Radius m1225, MotoTrbo, etc).

I have tried Astro 25 CPS and Astro Spectra CPS, with the DB25 connector I made (according to BatLabs) With RIB box on one of the radios that is a remote head (so it has the second DB25 Port next to the control head port). I also have a mic port to serial cable (which turns of the radio as soon as it's plugged in). Also tried the rear 15 pin cable to RIB box, with both a two piece astro spectra and a one piece.

I think one is a 130W (version, not watts) and the other might be a 125W. I will repost tomorrow morning with the correct info.

I've only ever gotten either "failed to acknowledge" or "communication error" error messages... Error 24? I believe.

I am learning that these are extremely picky radios. The only thing I have not tried is loading up the software on an XP machine and seeing if that'll work.

Would really appreciate a bit of knowledge, I do enjoy working on these old radios... .Have programmed many maxtracs, HT1000's, MTS2000's using the DOS RSS. But this radio has me stumped!
 

KI7OGT

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
12
Ok, model numbers,,,

Radio #1 (the one I need to work on):
Model T99DX+130W__Astro
ID D04UJF9PW4AN
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,861
Location
Central Ontario
Ok, model numbers,,,
Radio #1 (the one I need to work on):
Model T99DX+130W__Astro
ID D04UJF9PW4AN
That's a mid-power 800MHz Astro Spectra.

It will use Astro Spectra CPS. The typical way to read and write the radio is with a RIB box and an Astro Spectra cable (DB15 to DB25).

I'm sure somebody can point you in the direction of an aftermarket USB to serial cable though.

Not sure how much success you'll have using Windows10.
 

KI7OGT

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
12
It will use Astro Spectra CPS. The typical way to read and write the radio is with a RIB box and an Astro Spectra cable (DB15 to DB25).

I'm sure somebody can point you in the direction of an aftermarket USB to serial cable though.

Not sure how much success you'll have using Windows10.
I have a DB15 to DB25 cable (correct pinouts) and a RIB. I am wondering if Windows 10 is what is causing me problems... I will install windows xp and see if it changes anything.

Thanks for your reply Mike!
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,572
Location
Texas
Astro Spectra CPS is rather picky about running on 64 bit operating systems. Runs on 32 bit Windows 7, Vista, and XP without an issue. I've never tired Windows 10 as I refuse to use it for anything Motorola related. On my work computer (64 bit Windows 7) I have to run Windows XP Mode (Microsoft's free VM) and bridge the virtual com port to the physical one to read/write to any of the first gen Astro radios.

The front microphone programming cable is for the Astro Spectra Plus or XTL5000s wearing a W series head, both of which require Astro 25 Mobile CPS. Some Astro Spectras were upgraded to Plus models. An Astro Spectra Plus will have a little "PLUS" label near the model label and will display "SPECTRA+" on boot.
 

marcotor

I ♥ÆS Ø
Feed Provider
Joined
Nov 4, 2004
Messages
767
Location
Sunny SoCal
32-bit Windows 10 works (with a true Serial port) just fine with any CPS that worked in XP/7.
 

KI7OGT

Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2017
Messages
12
Yep, I was able to read the radio with 32 bit Windows XP using the DB15 to DB25 through the RIB.

This is the first time I have had issues using windows 10 (32bit) to program anything. I have a MSDOS partition for all the other RSS I use.

Thanks for the information!

KI7OGT clear
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top