• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Motorola Astro Spectra W3 head change

Status
Not open for further replies.

txpss

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2010
Messages
9
Location
College Station, TX
Hey guys... need some help with this one. I have been researching google and batlabs on this. We received a Motorola Astro Spectra VHF Trunk mount.. more like it was given to us with no heads or cables just the unit itself. The model information is

ASTRO Spectra W3
Model Number T04KLH9PW3AN (VHF 146-178 MHz)
FLASHCode 580001-000000-0

Options Installed on this Flashcode
580001-000000-0

Q806/G806 IMBE / APCO-25 Digital Operation
H14/G114 Digital ID Display
H868/W298 Conventional Multikey and Analog Conventional MDC OTAR
H35/G48 Conventional Operation

We have read the unit using Astro Spectra CPS R05.00.02 shorting out pin 20 to 22 and it confirms that it was used with a W3 hand held control head.

We do not have any cables or the W3 control head for this unit, but we have tons of spectra cables to use the W4-W9 heads and some spectra heads even an astro spectra W9 head.

The question now is how easy is it to convert this radio to use a different head other than the W3 handheld head? We have a SmartRIB and all the correct programming cables but this is the first Astro unit we have messed with in detail. If its a pain to convert does anyone have a W3 handheld head and a cable that I might be able to procure from them for a price?

Thanks

----
Wm. Reynolds
Texas Public Safety Solutions
Brazos County, TX
 

txpss

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2010
Messages
9
Location
College Station, TX
Anybody have any insight? Im hitting dead ends on what exactly needs to change for an astro spectra head conversion. I find stuff about s-records and needing a new codeplug for that model head wanting to use but what are the exact things needing to be done.
 

N4KMM

Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2006
Messages
19
Location
Radio Valhalla
You are going to need to contact Motorola to obtain the flash as well as the flashkey in order to upgrade the unit to a W4 or W9 head.
 

BigLebowski

Member
Joined
May 5, 2004
Messages
401
Location
Piedmont NC
It will probably be more trouble than you want to deal with....

The W3 uses a different interface board for the control head than the W5/W7/W9 models do, so there is a hardware change involved, as well as the use of lab-software and s-records, as well as a firmware update in most cases.

Double unfortunately, the control head doesn't plug directly into the radio either. There is a Y-cable that plugs into the drawer, one end of which goes to the control head, the other end terminates to a DB15 I think, which is used to interface a speaker among other things. You will need that cable, a speaker, a control head, and a high-power power cable to make the radio work.

We just put one of these in a vehicle for a friend, awesome radio but as with most things moto, it's more complicated than it really should be.
 

Mr_Observer

Member
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
100
Head type is not defined by the flah code. It is a paramater that can only be changed by lab software. As a previous poster said you will also need several pieces of hardware to change it out.

Unless you are committed to this radio as a project for fun and are willing to spend time and money on it the radio head change is probably more trouble than its worth. Concider just getting a w3 head and control cable.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,023
Location
Central Ontario
I'm sure the Depot could come up with some sort of upgrade package if he found the right person to deal with.

It would probably cost more then buying the appropriate radio secondhand.

Sure, we'll upgrade the radio for you.

$500 for the hardware, $500 to diddle a few bits to change the head type and $500 for the labour.

Total cost $1,500.

Turnaround time would be 60 days.

Meanwhile, some guy was blowing out astro spectras at Dayton for $200 a couple of years ago.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
109
Location
Ø
I'm sure the Depot could come up with some sort of upgrade package if he found the right person to deal with.

It would probably cost more then buying the appropriate radio secondhand.

Sure, we'll upgrade the radio for you.

$500 for the hardware, $500 to diddle a few bits to change the head type and $500 for the labour.

Total cost $1,500.

Turnaround time would be 60 days.

Meanwhile, some guy was blowing out astro spectras at Dayton for $200 a couple of years ago.
200 bucks! that is still very steep.

As far a the OP's question, just find a different RF deck that is setup for the control head you want. it will be a lot easier. then just sell the radio you have.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top