• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

motorola astro xts 3000 vhf

kb5vai

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
17
i have a astro 3000 model 3 ht. trying to program the radio.
how do i get the radio into program mode? site said to press and hold button above ptt. radio supposed to beep nd change display. nothing happens. trying to read with a panasonic toughbook, unable to communicate. trying with hp laptop and usb to serial adapter, same.
also can someone post a valid link to motorola xts 3000 program cable? ebay can get confusing so not sure if using right cable. have tried 2 different cables.

thanks
 

N4KVE

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,358
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
There is no program mode. You just turn on the radio, & read it. It’s the same cable as the MTS2000. And many times, the USB to serial adaptor doesn’t work. So use a laptop with a real serial port, & get a ribless cable for $20.
 

kb5vai

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
17
There is no program mode. You just turn on the radio, & read it. It’s the same cable as the MTS2000. And many times, the USB to serial adaptor doesn’t work. So use a laptop with a real serial port, & get a ribless cable for $20.
Thanks. Sure enough searched ebay. One had 4pins on radio connector, 1 had all the pins on connector. Panasonic tough book has serial port, tried com 1 and 2, no joy. What speed does the port need to be at?
 

wgbecks

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
257
Location
Porterfield, Wisconsin
The bigger question is, are you using the correct CPS program? Your CPS should be labeled Astro Saber & XTS3000. Then once you specify the com port upon the initial "Read" operation, CPS will initialize the port with the correct communications attributes.

Programming the Astro Saber & XTS3000 normally requires the use of the RIB and proper programming cable unless your have RIBLESS programming cable designed to work with the XTS3000 radio.
 
Last edited:

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,275
Location
Michigan
I use a cable from kawallmall that has a true serial connector and works well. I use Windows XP, 32 bit and have not had a problem with Motorola or EFJ older radios.
 

chrismol1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
188
Are you getting a serial port to be available in device manager when you plugin the USB to serial adapter? Do you see something showing up as COM PORT. Correct manufacturer driver installed for the USB to serial adapter? Click default port settings for now, 9600 8 none 1 none at thats my defaults with FIFO
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,275
Location
Michigan
My experience with 4 different usb to serial adapters was as bad as the kawamall is good.
 

chrismol1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
188
The only USB to serial adapter anyone needs is the IOGEAR GUC 232. This has been listed forever in the official README. They've recommended this one forever. The correct driver must be used

NOTE: For computers that are not equipped with a serial port, radio communications may be
possible with the use of an off-the-shelf
USB to RS232 converter, such as the IOGEAR
USB to Serial/PDA Converter Cable.
 
Top