• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

motorola gp1280 problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

jortsun

Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2010
Messages
9
Location
sevilla (spain)
Hello. I have a Moto GP1280 UHF Mobile type MDH25RDN9CK8AE, i have software but no codeplug and when i try to read or write to the radio i can not, it displays on the radio screen on power on, "EEPROM CKsum" radio failure
Can anyone help me, thanks.
 

Attachments

fineshot1

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
2,497
Location
NJ USA (Republic of NJ)
If you had a previously saved codeplug you might be able to recover by writing it to memory(if it would take) but since you don't pack it up & send it to motorola as they will have to fix it.
 

fineshot1

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
2,497
Location
NJ USA (Republic of NJ)
There is no another way of obtaining the codeplug? I have the cable and programe. Thanks
You would have to obtain a codeplug from the exact same band and model radio
and even then it may not work. The possible solution is to keep trying to load the
codeplug over and over until it is successfully written to the radio however I have
tried this on a similar model and it was not successfull after several hundred tries
so off to motorola it went.
 

Skypilot007

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
2,275
Location
Medford, NJ
Isn't the GP1280 similar to the HT1250 American radio? If so new CPS could revive the radio. The newer versions of CPS available for the CDM/HT professional series radios fixes this issue. I have been able to revive numerous HT's and CDM's with the CSEEPROM error. I would try to check into that before sending it to /\/\.
 

bezking

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
2,661
Location
On the Road
You need to perform the "region hack" - search batboard.batlabs.com for "Pro Series Region" and follow the instructions.
 

fineshot1

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
2,497
Location
NJ USA (Republic of NJ)
CPS R06.11.05 or newer (available from Motorola) should fix it.
I am happy to report that the R06.11.10 cps fixed my EEPROM CKsum problem although
it took some tinkering around to get it to work right as there is no help in the help file on how
to use it.

If you have an archived codeplug file open it up and try and write it to the radio.

You will get a cps warning that the radio data is corrupted and it asks if you want
to correct the problem with a default or a archived codeplug. I selected the default
even though I should have selected the archived. The cps immediately wrote the
default codeplug data to the radio and the radio recovered partially.

Then I reopened the archived codeplug and tried writing that to the radio. At first it
did not take but I kept trying and it eventually successfully wrote the archived data
to the radio and I confirmed the radio was fully functional after checking it on a service
monitor.

Excellent - less shipments to moto for these kinds of errors.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top