• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Motorola Ht1000 Knobs

Status
Not open for further replies.

thecircusbear

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 7, 2016
Messages
21
Quick question, as I have been unable to find any info on the net. On the Motorola HT1000, what diameter are the shafts for volume and channel control? Any help is much appreciated, thanks!
 

thecircusbear

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 7, 2016
Messages
21
main issue is its for another project of mine. They wont be used for an HT1000, i apologize I shouldve included that. But I know the application Ill use them for have the same size shaft as the 1000, but have no way to order any without the proper size
 

jhooten

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2004
Messages
1,426
Location
Paige, Republic of Texas
They are not round. The knobs have a D shaped hole larger than the size of the control shaft so that a spring steel retainer fits in to grip the shaft. So do you need the shaft size or the hole in the knob size. I'll measure one for you, but I need to know which one.
 

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
13,341
Location
SNCZCA01DS0
Shaft diameter:
Volume: 9/64", or 0.14", or 3.50mm
Channel: 1/8", or 0.125", or 3.21mm

This is from an old worn HT1000 I have. It should get you close enough, though. As JHooten says, they do have a flat on them to key the knob to the shaft.

Disclaimer: I'm not a machinist, so my tools have limited accuracy. +/- 0.001 inches or +/- 0.02mm. If you need tighter specs, you'll need to rely on one of these other guys to provide them.
 

thecircusbear

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 7, 2016
Messages
21
Thank you. That is exactly what I needed. Both those measurements will help. Thank you again
 

thecircusbear

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 7, 2016
Messages
21
Those are the shaft diameter? If so, that's perfect. Yes, they are D shaped, I just needed the correct diameter so I can find the size I need for sale. HT knobs won't work but the shaft size is the same as what I'm working on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top