• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Motorola maratrac not transmitting

Status
Not open for further replies.

timmy2

Newbie
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
1
Location
carson
I got a maratrax low band off of eBay and got it programed then installed it and it only transmits vary little it don't raise the needle on my swr meeter so got another one got it programed it dose the same thing I tried a none good antenna I checked the power and grounds I tried a different control head and wire harness still don't work they were sed to be tested wen I bout them is it possible to bern them up from programing


Im pulling my hair out please help I don't now if they worked wen I got them or not
 

northzone

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
502
Location
Northern California
Besides the small yellow and green power leads do you have a fuse in the LARGE RED lead that powers the transmitter in the radio?
 

petnrdx

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2004
Messages
253
Location
Sparks, NV
Could be a few things.
A Low band Maratrac draws about 26 or more amps on TX.
Are you powering it with something that provides enough current?
What band is the wattmeter made for? ( a CB one won't be accurate )
Last, what was the freq before you programmed it and the new freqs?
You often can't change the freq range more than a few MHZ without re-tuning the VCO's.
And they don't like going "out of band" without some modification and tuning.
They really are great radios once you get the bugs worked out.
 

Mr_Observer

Member
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
101
I forget if its the orange or the green lead but one of those two will inhibit transmit if 12v is not applied.
 

N467RX

Panama DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
469
Location
Prescott, AZ
Aren't the Maratracs really fussy with the wiring? something along the lines of two power wires that have to go to the same power supply or else they won't work.

Also, Batlabs says that if it's the low band radio you do need to do some modifications to go to 50-54 (from the original 42-50)
 

DPapay

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
350
Location
Morris County, N.J.
Yes, the green wire is supposed to go to the exact same point as the main red power wire at the battery. The orange wire is the ignition control, provided that JU1003 has been removed in the control head. I'm just assuming you have the control head with the lit up numeric display.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top