• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Motorola MDC

Status
Not open for further replies.

ke5fgc

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 28, 2006
Messages
108
Location
Tyler, TX
No ID . If you have to have one then Post. People just seem to cut themselves off with the pre ID.
 

APX8000

Sarcastic Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
3,607
Location
AES-256 secured
I use pre-MDC and set a preamble bit sync of like 3. Makes a nice ringing noise before the MDC squawk which always gets a "what the hell was that" question.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2002
Messages
290
Location
Piney Green/Jacksonville, NC
I have Pre set on our fire dispatch channel, since our guys dont understand the concept of keying up and waiting for the crappy repeaters to open up so everyone can hear us.

I have Pre ID set on the dispatch repeater, that way, my guys have to wait for the beep, then they can talk, and the squelch on the county repeater is so slow, the swawk doesnt make it through the audio.

Now, on our fireground channel, the PTT ID is set for post, that way an important message can go quicker, and no one has to wait for the beep.

Now, I'm just waiting until the 800 system takes off, and then have to re-train my guys to wait for the beeps.

On my company channel at the shop, I used ot have pre & post turned on just to aggravate the other techs.....
 

bezking

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
2,661
Location
On the Road
Pre for sure. If you have a radio stuck on, you can see the MDC ID on the dispatch console. But, if you wait until the TX is over to send the MDC, then you don't have this feature.
 

RodStrong

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
1,120
Location
West
Pre for sure. If you have a radio stuck on, you can see the MDC ID on the dispatch console. But, if you wait until the TX is over to send the MDC, then you don't have this feature.

Yeppers. Pre is best. Having post wipes out half the reason for having the ID in the first place. A stuck mic with an injured officer on the other end is reason enough to have pre. If they cut themselves off too much (we all know many do), consider putting a sidetone in. However, consider noise discipline when you think about a sidetone. A sidetone can get someone killed, depending on how it's used.
 

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,959
Location
#850Strong*10102018
Right now I'm using PRE with short sidetone with ID. I use to use ID and POST. Too bad you can not change it on the radio it self.
 

N2MWE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Messages
2,555
Location
New York State, Land of King Putz
Pre for sure. If you have a radio stuck on, you can see the MDC ID on the dispatch console. But, if you wait until the TX is over to send the MDC, then you don't have this feature.
You hit the nail squarely on the head. I set my Astro Saber for pre TX. Something happens, all I need do is key up.
 

ffexpCP

wizard of odd
Database Admin
Joined
May 15, 2004
Messages
624
Location
Michigan
Pre with short sidetone (so no one cut's themself off) and post for a "i'm done now" signal. I use DOS so it's just a quick chirp to the users, but still annoying to scanners.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top