• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Motorola Trunking system not regestering

Status
Not open for further replies.

janitor

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
3
I have installed Customer programming software (CPS). I can read a radio (MTX9250) just fine. I can transfer the programming as well. But I can not register the system key.
On my old system (DOS based) under System Key it shows enabled. On my new system it shows disabled. Also the ADD button is greyed out.
. . . . . . . Any ideas?
 

fineshot1

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
2,478
Location
NJ USA (Republic of NJ)
Not sure how it works for the MTX9250 CPS but for the MCS2000 CPS after reading the radios codeplug you click the tools tab and click the user settings drop down and a window appears and one of the selections in the window is to steer the CPS to the key file location.
Try seeing if that will work for you. This is assuming you have loaded a valid motorola supplied key file on your pc. Good luck.....
 

janitor

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
3
question about key

"This is assuming you have loaded a valid motorola supplied key file on your pc"
...................................................................
I just rec. this software... is the key hardware or a software number to be typed in?
 

fineshot1

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
2,478
Location
NJ USA (Republic of NJ)
janitor said:
"This is assuming you have loaded a valid motorola supplied key file on your pc"
...................................................................
I just rec. this software... is the key hardware or a software number to be typed in?
A key file is supplied by motorola when you purchase the cps software from motorola. The key allows programming of the trunk system ID and trunk system parameters. This is of course assuming that you are an authorized administator of the trunk system in question that you are trying to program into your MTX9250.
 

janitor

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
3
I purchased thru auth. motorola dist. Should they have supplied?
Is this a key code (as in text) or a hardware key?
 

fineshot1

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
2,478
Location
NJ USA (Republic of NJ)
Well - like I said I dont know exactly how it works for the MTX9250 but a key file is just that - its a software file - not text or a code typed in. It enables trunk system parameters to be programmed into the cps. You cannot obtain one from motorola unless you are an authorized trunk system admin for the trunk system you are trying to program into your MTX9250. You can still program conventional system parameters into your cps without the key file.

EDIT: Forgot to mention that the MTX9250 would have to have the trunking option, at least thats how the MCS2000/MTS2000 hardware options are setup. Conventional comes standard and trunking is flashable option.
 
Last edited:

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
Moved to the Motorola Trunking forum...a more appropriate place than the General Scanning forum for this discussion. :wink:
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
2,889
Location
Hubert, NC
To load a System Key into the software, you have to tell the software where to look.

In the Astro family CPS, you click on Tools, then System Keys, then Load and finally, Normal System Keys. The CPS you have is probably similar.

As stated above, you can buy the CPS from Motorola all day long, but they will NEVER sell you a system key unless you are the system admin of the system.
 

N4DES

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,148
Also some of the CPS software looks for the file to be in a "common folder" in windows and some CPS look for it in a folder located with the CPS in the program files area. I had to copy some of the legit system keys that I have and past them into the proper folder
to make the CPS programs work correctly.
 

mikegilbert

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
297
Location
Los Angeles
fineshot1 said:
Forgot to mention that the MTX9250 would have to have the trunking option, at least thats how the MCS2000/MTS2000 hardware options are setup. Conventional comes standard and trunking is flashable option.
Incorrect, the MTX9250 is NOT a flashport radio and therefore is NOT upgradeable. It comes standard with Smartnet/Smartone type II and IIi

-Mike
 

mikegilbert

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
297
Location
Los Angeles
Yes sir. You were talking about the system key process/requirements for the MTX9250.

I'm letting "Janitor" know his radio doen't need any flash upgrade.
 

fineshot1

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
2,478
Location
NJ USA (Republic of NJ)
mikegilbert said:
Yes sir. You were talking about the system key process/requirements for the MTX9250.

I'm letting "Janitor" know his radio doen't need any flash upgrade.
No - You missunderstood. I was talking about the system key process/requirements for the MTS/MCS2000 and that it might be same or similar to the MTX9250 and I even quoted myself above stating I did not know exactly how it worked for the MTX9250 (especially since I never had one). Thanks for the correction but it was not necessary.
 

mredding

Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2004
Messages
137
Location
Freehold, NJ
Gonna tack my question on the end of here since it sort of applies. Acquired the syskey from OEM on Friday and was trying to reprogram some MTS2000's (new talkgroups). I copied the .key file into the directory MTSX's config pointed at, reprogrammed the radio, and it said programming was successful. However, the changes didn't "stick" and everything remained as it was. I'm starting to think I'm an idiot. I could go back to doing it the old way and waiting around for OEM to reprogram radios for me, but that's no fun. I'm gonna call John during the week to see what he says, but I was hoping someone would have some insight.
 

N4DES

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,148
You may of programed in the talk-groups into the personality, but did you assign them an channel allocation?
 

obijohn

Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2006
Messages
349
KS4VT said:
You may of programed in the talk-groups into the personality, but did you assign them an channel allocation?

And this is a classic example of why Mark and others are telling people to take your radio to an authorized dealer to have it programmed.

If you are clueless as to what information is needed in a specific field in the CPS or RSS,
than you really have no business programming a radio!

Sure, you're saving a few dollars by doing it yourself. But if you're not sure, than it is much better to let the pro's do it for you. In the old days it was a requirement that to make any adjustment to a radio, you needed a 2nd class radiotelephone license issued by the FCC.

I still bemoan the relaxing of this requirement for land-mobile radios.

I normally don't get upset about people asking questions on this forum, but I am seriously
considering asking the forum administrators to restrict asking these sorts of programming questions.
 

mredding

Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2004
Messages
137
Location
Freehold, NJ
obijohn said:
And this is a classic example of why Mark and others are telling people to take your radio to an authorized dealer to have it programmed.

If you are clueless as to what information is needed in a specific field in the CPS or RSS,
than you really have no business programming a radio!

Sure, you're saving a few dollars by doing it yourself. But if you're not sure, than it is much better to let the pro's do it for you. In the old days it was a requirement that to make any adjustment to a radio, you needed a 2nd class radiotelephone license issued by the FCC.

I still bemoan the relaxing of this requirement for land-mobile radios.

I normally don't get upset about people asking questions on this forum, but I am seriously
considering asking the forum administrators to restrict asking these sorts of programming questions.
I take offense to your comment, and refuse to discuss it any further. I design pacemakers, defibs and telemetry equipment for pete's sake; I can figure out software.

Mark: Yes, I assigned the talkgroup to a channel location to replace another in addition to adding the talkgroup to the personality.
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,959
Location
West of Charlotte NC
obijohn said:
I normally don't get upset about people asking questions on this forum, but I am seriously
considering asking the forum administrators to restrict asking these sorts of programming questions.
There is a place, they call that batlabs :D

...Not saying they are not people on here who know this stuff, but the few that do might get overworked answering this stuff all the time...

:D
 

mredding

Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2004
Messages
137
Location
Freehold, NJ
So... I had OEM send me an image to clone from that should have worked. Again, it says everything completes successfully, but the changes don't stick. I think it's haunted.
 

rescue161

KE4FHH
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
2,889
Location
Hubert, NC
I had an MTS2000 that was doing the same thing. It was a bad flex. Replaced it and that solved the programming issues it was having.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top