• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Motorola Type ll smartzone

APX8000

Sarcastic Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
3,444
Location
AES-256 secured
G5 does not monitor SmartZone systems, only P25 trunked. The only work around is to conventionally monitor it but not ideal.
 

APX8000

Sarcastic Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 23, 2004
Messages
3,444
Location
AES-256 secured
You program each frequency as a conventional channel and then set a knob position to scan all them. Again, not ideal as you basically are wasting multiple channels per zone and you cannot select a talkgroup...you basically have to listen to every transmission that comes over the frequency and use scan to follow channel grants. I don’t recommend it.
 

TxScanner

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
734
we have a local PD that uses that, be nice to listen too. Could this be added later?
 

MTS2000des

Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
3,514
Location
Cobb County, GA Stadium Crime Zone
doubtful. While old and crusty, Smartzone/Smartnet uses proprietary protocols. Yes, Uniden and others have figured it out, but it, like EDACS, is being killed off and long off support. Those who have such systems alive, I pity them (been that guy, know what it's like with your MTC3600 on hospice care and MSF5000's with crackly VCO modules...).
 

WX4JCW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
2,544
Location
All Over USA
The only Smartnet/Smartzone one I really listen to is Memphis, its Smartzone/Smartnet but most of the voice is P25, but I hear it's going away soon
 

maus92

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
4,638
Location
Annapolis
we have a local PD that uses that, be nice to listen too. Could this be added later?
Unication has no plans to license the SmartNet / SmartZone protocol from Motorola. I spoke to a Unication rep at APCO, and he made it clear that the company does not want to invest in an obsolete technology even though a (shrinking) market exists.
 

trido

RETIRED
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,037
Location
Southern In
wonder if pager would scan over or lock onto a cc scanning conventional?
You program each frequency as a conventional channel and then set a knob position to scan all them. Again, not ideal as you basically are wasting multiple channels per zone and you cannot select a talkgroup...you basically have to listen to every transmission that comes over the frequency and use scan to follow channel grants. I don’t recommend it.
 

maus92

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
4,638
Location
Annapolis
wonder if pager would scan over or lock onto a cc scanning conventional?
I'd imagine it would open squelch on an active control channel, thus you should not program the primary control channel. Might be a PITA on a SmartNet system that regularly rotates cch's, but SmartZone *generally* stays on the primary unless there is an issue, then goes back to the primary when the issue has been resolved.
 

boatbod

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
2,361
Location
Talbot Co, MD
There's ways to (inexpensively) receive Smartzone, but you'll either need an older digital trunking scanner or a couple of RTL dongles and one of the SDR apps that understands that protocol. On Linux (RPi) that would be be TrunkRecorder or OP25, and on Windows it's going to be Unitrunker or perhaps the (older) Trunk88
 

a417

!#
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
1,662
Might be a PITA on a SmartNet system that regularly rotates cch's
the one I used to do that on rotated every night at 2300, just cleared the lockout and blocked the new one. The price one pays...
 
Top