• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Motorola USB programming cable

Status
Not open for further replies.

K2NEC

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
714
Because it is! You don't need a $40 Moto cable. Just a scheme to get you to pay more $$$
 

Ant9270

Deranged Individual
Joined
Aug 31, 2018
Messages
327
I prefer serial cables for whichever radios can use one. However, for USB cables I’ve had the best results with the FTDI chip cables. The prolific ones are too much of a headache for me.
 

Danny37

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2013
Messages
1,060
Location
New York City
I prefer serial cables for whichever radios can use one. However, for USB cables I’ve had the best results with the FTDI chip cables. The prolific ones are too much of a headache for me.
Agreed I have one for the XTS series and I never have a com-error. Prolific is hit or miss on some radios.
 

K2NEC

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
714
I have used serial, FTDI, and prolific and I really don't have a preference. Whatever works!
Can't beat serial though
 

William2910

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2018
Messages
701
Location
Land of entrapment
Prolific you have to find the specific driver for your version of system which can be consuming sometimes.

Another thing to watch for is fake ftdi and prolific cables, and the older firmware versions of them.
 

ergbert

Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2018
Messages
58
Location
FN22
Have an EVX-S24 at work. It’s the same USB cable that you’d use for an Android phone (sync/charge). Thank you Vertex/Mother M for picking a standard cable... wish this trend would spread.

FTDI is the way to go for USB serial use. There are several eBay sellers with very extensive listings of cables supporting many different radios, amateur and commercial. I’ve gotten a few (Alinco, Icom, Vertex, several Tait) cables from eBay user bluemax49ers, and each has worked flawlessly.
 

Danny37

Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2013
Messages
1,060
Location
New York City
Have an EVX-S24 at work. It’s the same USB cable that you’d use for an Android phone (sync/charge). Thank you Vertex/Mother M for picking a standard cable... wish this trend would spread.
Off-topic but any luck getting the evx-s24 to go out of band? Trying to get it to 487mhz. I know it goes to 480 out of the box.
 

ergbert

Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2018
Messages
58
Location
FN22
Off-topic but any luck getting the evx-s24 to go out of band? Trying to get it to 487mhz. I know it goes to 480 out of the box.
I haven’t tried. It’s programmed for our LMR frequencies, and it’s setup to be dummy proof as the folks who use it only understand “push button to talk to Fred”.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top