• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Motorola X9000

Status
Not open for further replies.

sgtmatt

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
119
Location
Platteville Wi
Hi I am wondering about the x9000. I know that both the head and the box have to be programed. Is all of the programing done from the box or is their a seprate cabel and software for the head?

Matt
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2004
Messages
1,217
Location
Tulsa
They both are programmed from the radio programming cable. Note: there are two programs one to program the radio and one to program the head. You will need a slow computer (286/386) running DOS directly not thru Windows.
 

DPapay

Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
350
Location
Morris County, N.J.
you may be talking about a syntor x9000, if so, our programming setup is done from the moto rib and a cable that goes between the chassis and control cable connector. there are seperate dos programs for the chassis and head.
 

sgtmatt

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
119
Location
Platteville Wi
I have just purchased a windows 95 laptop with a 486 speed will that work I am talking about the syntor x9000 I think I have seen a moto tech use a windows 95 speed computer to program my dads squad radio which is the same thing
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2004
Messages
1,217
Location
Tulsa
486 maybe, but you will need to be in DOS not windows dos, great radios good luck. Sometimes the programming cable is a bit difficult to find. Here is a link to Mike's site that can tell you what you want to know about Syntors.

http://www.onfreq.com/syntorx/
 

sgtmatt

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
119
Location
Platteville Wi
Ive got everything I need to get the radio on the air, but the onlything I'm missing is the programing does anyone happen to have any for sale or know where I can find one, I've checked ebay out with no luck just thought I'd check in here as well thanks
 

FFPM571

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
1,227
Location
Chicago area
Good luck.. The software which you should be able to only buy from Motorola has long since discontinued.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top