• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

mt1000 send/recieve

Status
Not open for further replies.

redzo6

Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
5
Hi everyone, I was wondering if I can get some help. I had taken my mt1000 16 channel vhf radio down to the local repair shop and the guy has had it 2 weeks. Well anyway he said he cant figure out how to boost the signal strength or power to the transmit. My problem is I can not talk to dispatch, I can hear fine and I can talk to another radio 10 feet away. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
 

pappy1

Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
354
Location
Central Arkansas
Take it to another Tech, the power is set via software, choice is low or high. When I had mine programed the Tech asked me how far I would be operating from the repeater and said he would set it to high for me.
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,965
Location
West of Charlotte NC
Maybe the finals are fried, but those are about the ruggedest /\/\ ever built, so I'd go with programmer error first.
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,965
Location
West of Charlotte NC
redzo6 said:
Thanks, how would you tell if the finals are fried?

I have no bloddy idea, but I real radio tech should be able to test the radio and find out. That is a tech with the needed tools and experience, which is not as easy to find anymore. I would say a watt meter reading would be helpful, if it's only putting out a fraction of a watt, well that would be a clue. Once again I mention a tech with the tools and experience, as the MT1000 can't just use a simple antenna jack mounted adapter for that, but not everyone would know.
 

redzo6

Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
5
Thanks, The man at the shop is in his 50's and seems knowlegdable, but he told me a couple days ago that this other guy was going to be there and new more about "these motorola's". I guess i should just pick it up and take it somewhere else. 2 weeks seems a long time for me.
 

redzo6

Member
Joined
May 1, 2008
Messages
5
Well I went to pick it up, and the man had fixed it. The antenna base was not making a connection to the radio. So bad antenna. I am good now. Thanks everyone
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top