• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

MT2000 Freezes while in scan

Status
Not open for further replies.

rakerland

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
35
Location
San Carlos, CA
I have an MT2000 UHF Full Keypad model H01SDH9AA7AN

The radio will freeze while in scan when I have the external shoulder mic attached Motorola # NMN6193B

I turn the power switch off and back on and it works again. It usually will freeze while I am wearing the radio with the cord streached around my back. Works just fine when not scanning. Or I cant remember any problems while in scan while sitting on the desk.

Any ideas? Changes in RSS that I may have not selected? or should I buy a new speaker mic?

Just really annoying.

Thanks
 

b7spectra

EMS Dispatcher
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
3,151
Location
Cobb County, GA
Stretching the cord could be causing a short in the plug. You should try changing out the mic cord and seeing if that works.
 

gary123

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
1,222
I have seen that before. loose pin connection is sliding off the contact and shorting 2 (sorry dont remember which 20 pads. Check that the top clamp is secure and not just loose.
 

ramal121

Lots and lots of watts
Joined
Dec 5, 2008
Messages
1,725
Location
Sonoma, CA
Is it freezing after transmit? There was, at one time, bad speaker mics that would couple RF back to the radio on TX and do crazy things...
 

rakerland

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
35
Location
San Carlos, CA
It does not freeze while transmitting.

The top clamp is secure. Not loose, but not tight either.

I will try another mic when I buy another. Ive used plenty of speaker mics and plenty of MTS2000 on other things I have worked, no problems ever

It does seem to do it way less since I re-programed the radio last week.

Oh well, just seeing if anybody has had a problem before.

Thanks for your help. This place is great. I am scanning my local area trying to figure out some freq. that I can submit. ( I would like to contribute, not just ask for help) My area mostly has public safety in the database. I would like to hear some business chatter.

Thanks
 

gary123

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
1,222
Since you reprogrammed it last week, it does appear that the speaker mic cord is the culprit. Let is know how things work out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top