• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

MTS2000 Number Pad Tones

Digirails_184

Newbie
Joined
Jul 21, 2023
Messages
2
I’ve recently finally been able to reprogram my small collection of MTS2ks thanks to BlueMax49 and his RSS. Growing up Ive been used to messing with older HT1000s with the keypads on them for railroad work. They were designed to where on any zone, if you needed to reach a railroad dispatcher you would key in a tone, say “*45”, the trunked system would recognize it and you would wait for a acknowledged tone from the dispatcher so you could speak to them.
Ive also noticed most cheaper FRS/GMRS mini hand held radios like the Baofengs and TYTs have this feature too.

Is it possible to bring this feature to the MTS2000? Via unknown to me RSS options? And I vaguely remember reading about how you could change the certain tone personalities, say instead of a sharp chirp if could be a long beep, etc
 

wa8pyr

Technischer Guru
Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Messages
6,832
Location
Ohio
I’ve recently finally been able to reprogram my small collection of MTS2ks thanks to BlueMax49 and his RSS. Growing up Ive been used to messing with older HT1000s with the keypads on them for railroad work. They were designed to where on any zone, if you needed to reach a railroad dispatcher you would key in a tone, say “*45”, the trunked system would recognize it and you would wait for a acknowledged tone from the dispatcher so you could speak to them.
Ive also noticed most cheaper FRS/GMRS mini hand held radios like the Baofengs and TYTs have this feature too.

Is it possible to bring this feature to the MTS2000? Via unknown to me RSS options? And I vaguely remember reading about how you could change the certain tone personalities, say instead of a sharp chirp if could be a long beep, etc

I don't remember the exact place in RSS (been using CPS for years), but you have to enable DTMF tones and make the keypad hot. Check under DTMF system.... I think.
 

Digirails_184

Newbie
Joined
Jul 21, 2023
Messages
2
I don't remember the exact place in RSS (been using CPS for years), but you have to enable DTMF tones and make the keypad hot. Check under DTMF system.... I think.
Ive since opened up my system again, and I would like to correct myself, I am also using CPS. I have DTMF Sidetone checkmarked in the settings and the delays at 1000ms yet I get no sidetone on the radio itself when unplugged. Am I doing something wrong?
 
Top