• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Multi-deck audio to one speaker

Status
Not open for further replies.

firemedic2150

Senior Member
Database Admin
Joined
Sep 25, 2001
Messages
267
Location
Right here...
I have a NX5700/NX5800 multi-deck running to a KCH-19 basic head, and a Motorola 700/800 APX currently. I have the speaker audio coming from the speaker jack on the rear of each deck, and the Motorola all going to separate speakers so I can hear traffic from all at the same time. I am planning on adding a 5900 deck soon and going to the new KCH-21 HHCH because space is a premium. So my question is this, does anyone have a good way of tying the audio from the three decks and maybe a scanner of ham radio for the discussion into a single speaker while protecting the audio amp from one getting fried?
 

kd4efm

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 14, 2002
Messages
1,738
Location
Florida
The KCH-21 has a speaker in it already, and all three decks play through it.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
 

firemedic2150

Senior Member
Database Admin
Joined
Sep 25, 2001
Messages
267
Location
Right here...
I know the KCH-21 has a speaker, but as I stated I want all the audio from each deck and possibly other devices like a ham radio or scanner all summed to one speaker and I would like some input from someone who has a good idea on that.
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
8,928
Location
NW Tenn
You are asking for trouble mixing audio from other devices. You would have to use a mixer and standalone amp to mix all audio from all devices.
 

cpetraglia

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2003
Messages
858
Location
Fairfax, VA
With a small mixer and a stereo amp, you can feed as much as you want to the mixer and take advantage of left or right speaker listening. I have two commercial radios and 3 scanners going through mine. You will also enjoy the sound quality. I use the Behringer XENYX 802. It has panning, base, mid and treble controls for each channel. Makes a nice setup.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
4,827
Location
Southeastern Michigan
I know the KCH-21 has a speaker, but as I stated I want all the audio from each deck and possibly other devices like a ham radio or scanner all summed to one speaker and I would like some input from someone who has a good idea on that.
I would suggest not using just one speaker. Separate speakers will give cleaner audio, and allow your brain to sort it out better, especially with physical separation of the speakers.

Sent via Tapatalk
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,969
Location
So Cali
And the radio(s) has a bridge audio amp for the speaker and you can not combine outputs without blowing up something. Neither speaker lead is referenced to ground.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
4,827
Location
Southeastern Michigan
And the radio(s) has a bridge audio amp for the speaker and you can not combine outputs without blowing up something. Neither speaker lead is referenced to ground.
That is the easy part to overcome. Each feed into a mixer, especially if an isolation transformer is used, solves that issue.

Sent via Tapatalk
 

cmdrwill

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2005
Messages
3,969
Location
So Cali
Or use the line level outputs…
Most line level outputs are a fixed level and not controlled by the radio's volume control.

You will need a dummy load in place of each radio's speaker and a audio isolation transformer with separate pri and sec, to another amp.

There are some bridge type speaker amps that are small and run off of 12 volts that would work, that would drive the 'common' speaker. They do not have a output transformer.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,638
Location
Texas
Most line level outputs are a fixed level and not controlled by the radio's volume control.



You will need a dummy load in place of each radio's speaker and a audio isolation transformer with separate pri and sec, to another amp.



There are some bridge type speaker amps that are small and run off of 12 volts that would work, that would drive the 'common' speaker. They do not have a output transformer.


True. Something such as the mobile dispatch console mmckenna suggested however works on the line level outputs (since it has its own audio amplifier in it).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top