my apartment shack

Status
Not open for further replies.

313RADIO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
257
from left to right
top shelf
HP t5135 thin client. Setup as an automatic audio archiver
Sirius satellite radio tuner
Yaesu FT-857D
Diamon SX600 SWR meter
Radioshack PRO-2096
Samlex SEC 1235M 30A switching power supply
Elenco F2850 10hz - 2.8ghz Frequency Counter
Yaesu VX-7R handheld transceiver
Icom IC-F4 440 handheld transceiver
Icom IC-F21 440 handheld transceiver with li-ion
macbook 2.1 ghz intel core 2 duo 4gb ram 250gb HD

Bottom shelf
Dell 2005 FPW LCD
elegato eyetv usb ota + qam tuner (behind lcd)
1tb USB hd timemachine backup disk (behind lcd)

the HP thin client is connected to the scanner
It records the audio from a local amature radio
repeater and put the audio online and archives it.
its runs debian linux from a internal USB flash drive
It uploads the timestamped audio files to my website via the
internal wifi card. It only has 2 wired connections. 12v
power and audio in. Its pretty neat.
 

Attachments

N1SQB

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
2,460
Location
Somewhere On Earth
Nice set up!

Looks good!
I like the desk with all that room. Where did you get it? I am looking for something like that for my family room!

Manny
 

macdude22

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
28
Location
Grinnell, IA
Have to give props to the Mac user. Are you running the monitor off the MacBook?
Do you have any external antennas hooked up to the Ham Radios? I ask because I too live in an apartment(in a fairly rural area) and I'm looking for something to flex my new found Amateur license a little better than the rubber ducky.

I've been looking at either the apartment antenna from MFJ (http://www.mfjenterprises.com/Product.php?productid=MFJ-1622) or the 2 meter blade from DpD (http://www.dpdproductions.com/page_ham.html#2mblade).

That's a nice clean setup, my desk is covered in papers and random games, gadgets, etc...
 

313RADIO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
257
yeah i am using the macbook as my desktop computer now. its working out fine.
I have a diamond x50 outside connected to the 2/440 side of the 857D
I don't have a HF antenna yet, I can only work 10 and 6 now. I may rig up something for those bands later, not sure yet.
 

macdude22

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
28
Location
Grinnell, IA
I don't suppose you'd be able to take a picture of your x50 mounted outside for a little n00b such as myself who's looking for apartment options. :)
 

macdude22

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
28
Location
Grinnell, IA
So you just zip tied that pipe/mast there to mount the antenna, neat idea. I'm moving to a different apt. next month I'll have to see what my options are. That X50 seems reasonably priced, compared to the other options I was looking at. Do you just run the coax back through a window or something?
 

313RADIO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
257
good question i forgot to mention.
there is a in-wall portable type air conditioner unit next to the balcony. i pulled the unit out a few inches and snaked the rg8 around the side and out the back. I don't use the A/C so theres really no interference from the compressor..
I cant wait to get a house though and but up the antenna on the roof or on a mast.
 

313RADIO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
257
its not...
if its gonna storm bad and im home i will take the antenna down...
any suggestions?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top