My first DX QSO's

Status
Not open for further replies.

WX2CIB

Made my first 5 DX QSO's with my club callsign (KC2ELX). Finland, Barbados, Virgin Islands, Fed. Republic of Germany, and Azores.

N9JCQ

Premium Subscriber
I want to echo what K9WG said. Its is very addicting. And the great of the hobby is you don't need a KW and Beams to enjoy DX chasing. I have a vertical (Gap Challenger) and a Drake TR7 transceiver and I work all the DX I want. It is a blast. Keep us updated as to who you work.
Joe, N9JCQ

N0IU

Why did you use your clubs call sign?

My contacts were made on 20m and I'm a Tech.

I hate to burst your bubble, but I hope you realize that those contacts, as exciting as they were for you, will not count towards your personal DXCC count. Sorry!

I have been licensed for nearly 20 years and I still get just as excited now over hearing a DX station come back with my callsign as I did back in 1992!

WX2CIB

I hate to burst your bubble, but I hope you realize that those contacts, as exciting as they were for you, will not count towards your personal DXCC count. Sorry!

I have been licensed for nearly 20 years and I still get just as excited now over hearing a DX station come back with my callsign as I did back in 1992!

Yes I am well aware that they don't count. I plan on upgrading to General in the next several 6-12 months. Then plan on getting a HF for home use.

Howdy_All

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Question - did you have someone there - working 3rd party or were you working the HF on your own?

Just for the sake of asking, I'm going to.
You need to realize that you do not have any privileges as a amateur - using a club call sign beyond the privileges allocated to you by your license.

Unless you were working some type of event - there would be no reason for you to use the club call sign - other then to try to cheat the system and get on the HF without being properly licensed.