My first mil scaner

Status
Not open for further replies.

CalebATC

Hi,

This is my first post here. I have been looking at military scanners for a long time, and finally got a chance to get a Pro-164.

I am a student pilot, and know about everything aviation. I have a VXA-220 from Vertex Standard. I have been using this for the past few years.

I live in Fort Myers, Florida (Venice, Naples, Cape Coral, 70MI S of Tampa). I have all the freqs to the Avon Park MOA. I also have all the ZMA ARTCC and KRSW APP/DEP/TWR frequencies for military and civil.

I havent been able to check it out because I am on vacation right now, but will be back the 11th or 12th. I was listening to ZTL ARTCC on military bands though. My peak of my house is about 30' or so. I can hear RSW app barely from my top porch with my VXA-220, standard antenna.

Since I got this PRO-164, where will be the BEST place for the scanner, listening on porch, out in street, or anywhere? I have 3 refueling tracks over my house, and have all the frequencies programmed already. Will the default antenna be able to pick these up? I am not new to aviation scanners, as I stated before with my VXA-220.

Also, do any of you live in SWFL and have any good frequencies that are not from the Avon Park MOA or from the aieral refueling areas.

Thanks in advance,
Caleb

N8IAA