My First QSL Card

Status
Not open for further replies.

elzebub

I just received my first QSL card, Radio Havana, I know not a real hard catch but I thought it was cool that they sent me a QSL card and some station literature, I e-mailed them with a reception report on Feb 19 2009, and they sent my package on march 2 2009, and I just received it on June 22 2009, I have had several friendly e-mail conversations with them in the past few months, it really is one of my favorite programs. Just thought I would let you know I am fairly new to the shortwave thing, but I love it, I just have to get an external ant for the SAT 800, still running off the whip but can catch many stations. Thanks Dave

kb2vxa

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
RHC has a very friendly bunch working there and has always been top notch in the QSL department, I got mine back in the early 60s. Funny you should mention the literature packet, back then I got dozens of envelopes stretched to the bursting point with nothing but a Feliz Año Nuevo card with uncle Fidel's picture on it. Yeah, if you think the feds don't monkey with the mail guess again, I was investigated and even got a personal visit from the FBI thanks to my correspondence with Communist countries.

Oh relax, the Cold War is over! (;->) Now there is e-mail so please say hello to Arnie Coro for me and if you tune around the ham bands you just might hear him, CO2KK.

elzebub

Here you go. They also sent some pocket calenders, book page markers, and a broadcast schedule.

Attachments

• qsl.jpg
    qsl.jpg
    35.9 KB · Views: 528
  • qsl1.jpg
    qsl1.jpg
    125.5 KB · Views: 492

sixtyten

How did you get the QSL? Did you send the report via email or regular mail? I don't have a ham license.. I just enjoy listening to Shortwave radio. I would like to begin collecting QSL cards from the various broadcasters but I'm not sure how to begin.

elzebub