My oldschool Motorola setup

millrad

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 14, 2004
Messages
239
Location
Connecticut
Is this a ham set up or something other? Professional looking gear, esp the Centracom consolette.
 

Securevoice

Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Messages
15
I don´t even dare to gues what a new console is gonna cost they don´t dare to list a price on the web either. Even used consoles can be rather expensive depending on how much is included in the selling price. Be aware that it´s not a walk in the park to get it configured and up running with radios. There´s a lot more to it than just to plug in the power cord (which btw often is missing). The consoles are very nice when working as supposed to but the tend to mailfunction when aged due to fault caps. Trouble with sel/unsel audio is just one among a couple known probs. If one can solder SMD go ahead knock your self out plenty of work ahead. I used Spectra radios so there´s some additional 10-12 caps per radio. When done I´ve replaced more than a hundred SMD caps in this specific setup. But still it´s damn nice when working as intended. Life is good!
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,565
Location
Texas
Multiple radios not on your desk. That's the real advantage. So if I had a multi-line multi frequency remote at my desk it would look like any of my other phones...but the radios could be in my shed in the backyard. If you only deal with a handful of frequencies which can easily be preprogrammed, it makes a ton of sense actually.

If I had something like a 4 or 8 channel Gai-Tronics console laying around I would totally use it (I just have several Comtegra's).
 

a417

!#
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
1,708
Multiple radios not on your desk. That's the real advantage. So if I had a multi-line multi frequency remote at my desk it would look like any of my other phones...but the radios could be in my shed in the backyard. If you only deal with a handful of frequencies which can easily be preprogrammed, it makes a ton of sense actually.
Another huge advantage is you can put the radios closer to the antenna, and shorten the overall RF path. Easier to run console cabling than it is LMR-400, or such.
 

Securevoice

Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Messages
15
Another huge advantage is the fact that up till 10 consoles can interconnect. I´m working on a second operator position and the console already installed will be the supervisor console in that configuration. I don´t expect the installation of a slave to be a big deal unless the FW dosn´t support the plan.. The next level after that will be the experiment of connecting a third console via VoIP. If I get it to work the world will be open. I´m looking into different pro VoIP solutions which are being used in systems I know of. Some basic facts I think are missing in this thread is the sound quality of this console it cannot be compared with a basic radio desktop configuration. The console has DSP which makes the user experience way more impressive than anything else I´ve been listening to. Also with the upgraded FW the console has full feature MDC1200 applications such as radio check, radio disable/enable and much much more. The hi/low APB also has a certain cool factor. Oh not to forget the emergency recieve option that´s also quite intertaining the first time.
 
Last edited:

ElroyJetson

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2002
Messages
2,524
Location
Florida, where you wish you were!
It's not the console that's hard to find, it's getting the equipment that drives it that can be a real hassle. And the knowledge required to get it all up and running and programmed is getting stale and also hard to find. Oh, it's out there, but you'll pay your dues in between the time where you find a centracom mini console and the time you're actually using it with so much as one radio.
 
Top