• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Narrowband RX only on APX CPS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thunderknight

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
1,836
Location
Bletchley Park
Question about APX CPS. When programming TX on a vhf or uhf channel, you select a transmit deviation and channel spacing (e.g. 2.5/12.5) for narrowband operation.
However, if the personality is set to RX only, that field is greyed out.
Does the radio use the same bandwidth and filter for receive regardless of the TX setting?
I'm thinking of a scenario where you have an adjacent channel user on a interstitial channel.
Also on a narrowbanded channel, the receive audio and PL deviation would be less than a wide band channel. How does the radio compensate for that?
 

IAmSixNine

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,641
Location
Dallas, TX
Typically what i do is program the channel with the proper RX info then go to the TX side and make sure my deviation is set correctly, then go back to RX and enable RX only. This way i know its set to the proper RX deviation type and not the default type.
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,551
Location
BEE00
Un-check Receive Only Personality, change deviation, re-check Receive Only Personality
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,551
Location
BEE00
Oops sorry, I didn't see your post before I posted. We basically said the same thing lol

Anyway, he should be all set now.
 

Thunderknight

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
1,836
Location
Bletchley Park
Un-check Receive Only Personality, change deviation, re-check Receive Only Personality
Yes, I realize I can do that. :)
But...
1) does this mean it's bug in CPS for RX personalities (having it greyed out)?
2) does that setting actually impact the receiver? Do we know for sure the radio uses a different filter for receive based on the setting?
3) or is it just a "feel good" to change all of them but it really does nothing :)
 

GTR8000

Well Known Member
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
7,551
Location
BEE00
It's not really a bug so much as it's just typical Motorola quirkiness. And yes, the setting matters, as it not only affects TX deviation but also RX bandwidth.
 

IAmSixNine

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,641
Location
Dallas, TX
Its grayed out because you have RX only selected. The option to change it is in TX side of the radio so by enabling RX only you therefore are not allowing the modification of the option thus its grayed out.

GTR8000 your posting actually was much better then mine was. :)
 

RKG

Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,087
Motorola CPS and RSS have been that way for a long time.
 

Thunderknight

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
1,836
Location
Bletchley Park
Thanks. I went and changed all to 2.5.
Still a wierd way to have to do it!

Its grayed out because you have RX only selected. The option to change it is in TX side of the radio so by enabling RX only you therefore are not allowing the modification of the option thus its grayed out.
Yes I understood it was grey because of the RX only selection, but rather my point was it was a wierd thing to isolate to that setting if it really affects both.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top