• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

NAS XTS2500 Starts Scanning Fine Then After Sometime Traffic Is Sporadic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frank00213

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2016
Messages
16
So im back into the radio world recently. Last time i was programming radios was back when MTS2000 RSS was the thing. Now this CPS is pretty damn awesome that we have to use for these pieces of work now days. So i have a UHF MT2000 on a local system that simulcasts the same channels as the 700 system. I have a XTS2500 setup on the system in a NAS format. The issue i am having, is when i turn the radio on it seams to receive all audio for a bit, even sometimes for hours, then for some reason it will stop receiving audio. I no there is audio as the UHF is awake. If i change the conventional channel up one then back down it will immediately come alive. If i do nothing and wait awhile it will start working again, sometimes when there is traffic again or maybe 15 mins later. I have tried to adjust every setting i can think of. I am thinking at this point i may have the incorrect ISW settings. Not sure though. I have the correct band plan in (+30.0000). I have the hold time for scan for voice and data to 1 sec. ISW window adjustment is FE35. System search time is 1 sec. I think for the XTS2500 the ISW is not correct, but i am not sure. I do not remember setting this in the old RSS, Could have forgotten though. If anyone has a little insite that would be great. Thanks in advance for any help guys.
 

wgbecks

Active Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
537
Location
NE Wisconsin
Frank,

The ISW Window should be set to FFC0. If you're monitoring a SmartZone system then be sure to enable Coverage Type to "SmartZone" in the General Tab of your Trunking System, then also stroke the OmnilLink Box under the Astro 25 OmniLink Tab.

Bill
 

Frank00213

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2016
Messages
16
Thanks Bill, I do already have all of these set points set as above. If I understand the RSSI settings they are for the radio to have the ability to tell if the reception to the control channel is good or not. I have brought down all of those numbers in hopes that a lower number will allow more to come through, even if it goes digital every once in a while. I may be wrong on what the RSSI settings do though, would you no?
 

Outerdog

T¹ ÆS Ø
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
499
This behavior typically indicates the radio needs to be aligned. There is no reason to mess with parameters such as ISW and RSSI. Leave those alone and set at the defaults.

Have the radio tuned/aligned.
 

Frank00213

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2016
Messages
16
Ok, I will look into having that done. Are there "factory set points" for all of those ISW and RSSI settings so that i can adjust them back? Or is it per radio those are set?
 

Outerdog

T¹ ÆS Ø
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
499
ISW and RSSI... those are defaults in the CPS / codeplug.

In Trunking Configuration, General, there are 3 fields. Defaults: 61 30 FFC0

In Trunking Configuration RSSI Thresholds, there are 7 fields. These are the defaults: 80 102 Disabled 34 40 46 4D, Strong Signal Roaming = Unchecked.

Hopefully, you didn't mess with anything else.

The soft pot values adjusted in Tuner (tuning/alignment) will vary radio to radio.
 

KevinC

Totally Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Messages
7,345
Location
Home again...
And the ISW setting will only affect affiliating/transmitting, so no need to worry about it using NAS.
 

Frank00213

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2016
Messages
16
The code plug that came with the radio had the 3 filter constants at 0,0,0 and the threshold constants at 2,2,2 is that also correct?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top