Need advice on setting up a 396T

Status
Not open for further replies.

ozztheozz

I'm new to the scanning world and need some help figuring out the 396T. I live in Nebraska in Box Butte county and am trying to program the scanner with Police, Fire, and Sheriff's dept. I found the data base here on RR and looked up the freq. for these departments and was wondering if I programmed them right. Here's how I programmed it into the scanner:

1: New conventional system named it Box Butte Co.
system options I entered quick key #1

2: Groups
1: Police quick key #1 entered freq. 460.07500
2: Sheriff quick key #2 entered freq. 39.90000 and 460.12500
3: Hemingford QK #3 entered freq. 458.20000
4: Fire QK #4 entered freq. 453.05000

In my scanner disply it shows its scanning Box Butte Co below it shows SO 1 and GRP 1234. Is SO in the display for System Option? and GRP I take it is for group names I entered and assigned them to quick keys. My other question is if you click on license it shows other freq and Long and Lat information, with regards to the other freq listed do I need to enter them in the the scanner so it scans all the freq for each department so I'm not missing transmissions on those freq. or will the way I have it programmed now cover everything. If not could you please explain how you would set it up and if it's a conventional system or other type of system. I would like to program the State Patrol and other groups in but want to make sure I'm doing it right. Thanks in advance for taking the time and answering my questions.

Thank you
Randy

Last edited:

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
ozztheozz said:
I'm new to the scanning world and need some help figuring out the 396T. I live in Nebraska in Box Butte county and am trying to program the scanner with Police, Fire, and Sheriff's dept. I found the data base here on RR and looked up the freq. for these departments and was wondering if I programmed them right. Here's how I programmed it into the scanner: