Need G5 Vehicle Bluetooth Solution (FCA)

Robotech2112

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
47
Location
Lenawee/ Monroe Line, Michigan
#1
I have a 2016 Dodge Charger utilizing U Connect (Fiat Chrysler) infotainment system. It's Bluetooth is how I've connected my phones, and I've never had an issue connecting any Bluetooth enabled device... till now.

The G5 sees U Connect, the U Connect sees the G5. They pair. G5 internal speaker disables, BUT audio does not come through the vehicles system.
I have triple checked all my settings, and am at a loss. Are they not compatible? I need amplified volume for the G5 at highway speeds.

Any thoughts?
 

mattmac553

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 21, 2012
Messages
3
#6
I have a 2018 Dodge Challenger, and my car treats each transmission I receive as a phone call that only last a fraction of a second.
 

N6ML

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
354
Location
SF Bay / Delta, CA
#8
No, (I believe) he's saying that each transmission is like a separate phone-call. If it's a conversation (e.g. between dispatch and a mobile unit), it can be a lot of very short "phone-calls".

The next version of the firmware doesn't do that... but I've not had any luck getting the beta builds to talk to either of the head-units that I've tried so-far. It does work better with some other BlueTooth receivers, though.
 

Robotech2112

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
47
Location
Lenawee/ Monroe Line, Michigan
#11
I purchased a small bluetooth receiver on Amazon. It plugs into my "Aux in"
on the car. If it works out, Ill post the particulars.
View attachment 68296
UPDATE... This Mpow BH129 has low fidelity and low audio output. With bluetooth volume on full and G5 volume on full, audio is "barely" loud enough for highway speeds. Everytime a transmission comes through an irritating announcement tone precedes it. Cheap rubbish.

I plugged it into a Motorola external speaker as well... even worse without amplification. :poop:
We need an emoji of a garbage can on here as well...lol.
 

etihparg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 25, 2002
Messages
46
Location
Gilbert, Arizona
#12
I have just been successful connecting my G4 to an Android head unit. What I had to do is turn off and delete all other BT connections, including the OBDII transmitter. Then I turned on BT on the pager at there it was. Then I re-connected the other devises and they all work. Seem like it the page sees ANYTHING else it gets "confused". Hope this helps, all devices are different.
 

Robotech2112

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
47
Location
Lenawee/ Monroe Line, Michigan
#13
I have just been successful connecting my G4 to an Android head unit. What I had to do is turn off and delete all other BT connections, including the OBDII transmitter. Then I turned on BT on the pager at there it was. Then I re-connected the other devises and they all work. Seem like it the page sees ANYTHING else it gets "confused". Hope this helps, all devices are different.
Thank you for that info.
 
Top