Need Help BC785D in Ontario

Status
Not open for further replies.

780xltuser

Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2003
Messages
32
Location
Niagara on the Lake
Hi all, I have searched through the forums and can't find anything. I am trying to re-program my old BC785D. Can anyone in the GTA or Southern Ontario help me with programming Bell Fleetnet (OPP) into my radio? I can travel to you if need be. I just moved back from Alberta and would really like to use my radio. Thanks!
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,596
Location
Central Ontario
Don't think I got anything from you but keep in mind you'll get better support here in the Forums than from me personally.
 

mciupa

Canadian DB Admin
Moderator
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
7,205
I was trying to program my 785d as well and was having trouble - I went through the sticky
Are the band plans set up properly?

The first thing that trips people up is setting the base configuration. If programming by hand, did you get that set up successfully?


Have you tried Freescan? It will calculate the upper frequency of the band plan.

Once those things are done, proceed with entering the sites that you are close to and add the talkgroups of interest.
 

dmikes

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2015
Messages
6
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Are the band plans set up properly?

The first thing that trips people up is setting the base configuration. If programming by hand, did you get that set up successfully?


Have you tried Freescan? It will calculate the upper frequency of the band plan.

Once those things are done, proceed with entering the sites that you are close to and add the talkgroups of interest.

i entered in these numbers
Press "141.015E" to enter the BASE FREQUENCY 1.
Press "15E" to enter the SPACE FREQUENCY1.
Press "380E" to enter the OFFSET CHANNEL1 (or just press "E" to leave it at the default which is already 380).

Press "E" to setup Base Config 2.
Press "151.730E" to enter BASE FREQUENCY 2.
Press "15E" to enter the SPACE FREQUENCY 2.
Press "579E" to enter the OFFSET CHANNEL2.

Press "E" to setup Base Config 3.
Press "154.320E" to enter BASE FREQUENCY 3.
Press "15E" to enter the SPACE FREQUENCY3.
Press "632E" to enter the OFFSET CHANNEL3.

for the channel frequency's i entered in these
141.30000
141.43500
142.11000
142.68000a
142.90500c
143.34000
143.64000
152.00000


am i missing something ? im getting a continuous static.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
23,013
Location
Bowie, Md.
<snip>

Have you tried Freescan? It will calculate the upper frequency of the band plan.</snip>
Keep in mind that FreeScan doesn't work with the 785...although you could use the tool to compute the upper frequency of the bandplan.

Doesn't ARC250 or ProScan (which does support the 785) have this tool? If not, it should....Mike
 

ProScan

Software Provider
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
4,442
Location
Ontario, Calif.
There are no upper freq settings for a Moto Type 2 VHF system. People are think of rebanded systems which doesn't apply in this case.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,596
Location
Central Ontario
Yes, there are upper frequency settings. How else would you know where the next frequency range starts?
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,596
Location
Central Ontario
It's not.

On a VHF system you need to enter it so your scanner knows where the next range starts.


The system we're discussing uses three ranges each of which has a starting and stopping frequency.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
11,596
Location
Central Ontario
Yes, you're correct. I took a look at the programming thread I created many years ago and you only need the start frequencies and the offsets.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top