Need help just getting into SDR

Status
Not open for further replies.

fao110

I have been searching around the SDR forum for a bit and just cant seem to find the info I'm looking for.
I am a complete novice on SDR ie none at all.

The radio system I'm needing to listen to is Moto 700 mhz phase II that is being installed in Henderson, Ky. And I like to listen to Kentucky State Police P25.

I have two old XP and two Windows 7 machines will the XPs work with SDR? Or do I need to go to Ubuntu.

What I'm asking is their a simple software package available?

Thanks
Tim

jwt873

Premium Subscriber
Do you have an SDR receiver? If you don't have one, you can get by cheap with an RTL-SDR dongle. Buy RTL-SDR Dongles (RTL2832U) - rtl-sdr.com

First step is to get it set up with the proper software. It's not completely plug and play, but isn't that hard. I've got SDR set up on Windows 7.

Her's a howto --> Quick Start Guide - rtl-sdr.com

Note, I only listen to FM.. I don't have any of the digital plugins. Someone else will have to help you out there.

br0adband

Ok, because you were smart enough to specifically say what you hope to monitor - a P25 Phase II system - that makes it much easier in the long run because there is only one current method of doing that with a personal computer and that means using OP25. Here's the basic gist of that:

If you want to use SDR hardware and software to monitor P25 Phase II systems (or just one, if that's it) you're going to need to use Linux and by that I mean Ubuntu since that's what has been well established as the most favorable platform for using a software package known as OP25. OP25 allows one to monitor P25 Phase I and Phase II systems, trunked or conventional, using a personal computer (desktop, laptop, tablet, whatever but it needs to be running an actual desktop-class processor meaning not some mobile device in an ARM-powered tablet).