Need help listening to a trunked network

Status
Not open for further replies.

jack90720

So im pretty new to scanning and i bought my first scanner, which is a Uniden BCD325P2, i needed this one for the purposed to scanning the fire radio channels where i live which is orange county, CA.
This place uses a mega trunked network, with a million or so channels. I know because i use it at work which also happens to be in fire, but my father wants a scanner so he can listen to me when im at work.

The system is a Motorola II Smartzone, https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=201 is the network.

Im trying to figure out how i can just tune into several, but not nearly all of them, and only listen to one at a time.

For example, the way it works is here we have groups 1 through 7, and almost each one has channels Alpha through Oscar.

is there a way to for me to only tune into, say 4Delta, and only hear all the traffic coming through that channel? sorry im preeetty new to this, i have a good understanding about how Trunking networks work, but im not entirely sure it can work the way im thinking about it, because the scanner itself doesnt have its own system ID, and just piggybacking on another ID is unreliable because we change channels at work all the time, so the ID might no longer be transmitting on the TG im listening to. Am thinking about this right, or do i have it all wrong?

I feel like the answer is simple and it's staring me right in the face, but i can't see it, please help D:

jack90720