Need help with Maryland PD Radios!

Status
Not open for further replies.

omg_miiiike

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2010
Messages
9
I'm new here so bare with me..

I live in Maryland and I'm wondering what Motorola radio I could use to receive transmissions from my local (Annapolis Police, AACO PD, MSP). I know we switched to digital not too long ago and are still on the 800mhz band but I'm not sure as to what radio (preferably inexpensive, and Motorola) I could purchase to be able to pick up on the frequencies. If anyone can help please let me know!
 

Gezelle007

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
1,065
Location
Oregon
Well RR says that the MD State Police is on a Lowband system and Motorola radios that do low band are kind of hard to find on ebay and such because they are so old.

For the 800mhz in Anne Arundel County- and any trunked network- its more than just putting frequencies into the radio- to track this with a Motorola radio you would have to program the network in to a radio that is SmartZone compatible since that system IS a SmartZone network, and you would need to have a valid Radio ID- you could just make up a number but if you managed to program a radio and have it work with the network- there is a strong chance that you might get ID locked out- especially since its Maryland and thats like NSA area....But if you dont manage to get locked out- a Motorola Mts2000 800mhz will do fine for that job since thats probably the same exact model that the police are using. But just fyi transmitting on police and fire networks like that is really illegal- Id Just go with a trunking scanner- they are much easier to program and they wont get you in to much trouble haha. I just recently thought about buying a radio that would be able to work on a network in my area and i just said screw it cause i already hav a scanner and they are rebanding the trunked systems everywhere anyways- look that up somewhere as well..
 

JoeyC

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,402
Location
San Diego, CA
There are many threads on here about what you want to do, and the bottom line is GET A SCANNER.
There are no cheap Motorola radios and if you have to ask how to program a Motorola digital radio, you are way over your head.
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
22,072
Location
Bowie, Md.
OK let's dial this down a notch - JoeyC is correct in getting a scanner, however it's important to get the right kind. As was alluded to earlier, the AA county area has a lot of digital, and unfortunately digital scanners are pricey unless you find a sale, or see one in our wanted area.

However before you go and buy something, it's time to inform yourself. Go to the blue toolbar under the Scanner Master ad, look right and float your mouse over wiki. Select wiki homepage. Read the articles as linked in the 'Links for Newcomers' section, then Digital Trunktrackers in the popular topics section. Once you have made your more informed decision as to what scanner you want, and how much cash you can afford, we can help further 73 Mike
 

omg_miiiike

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2010
Messages
9
So there wouldn't be a way to get a Motorola handheld to pick up AACO/APD/MSP?? I am a little confused, I don't really want a scanner; I'd rather have the Motorola handheld.
 

JoeyC

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,402
Location
San Diego, CA
So there wouldn't be a way to get a Motorola handheld to pick up AACO/APD/MSP?? I am a little confused, I don't really want a scanner; I'd rather have the Motorola handheld.
Why don't you tell us what you are willing to spend and why you must have a Motorola radio and not a scanner? As has been suggested, what you want is not practical and many times not possible.
 

ResQguy

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,242
Why don't you tell us what you are willing to spend and why you must have a Motorola radio and not a scanner? As has been suggested, what you want is not practical and many times not possible.
Or legal, for that matter.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2010
Messages
44
Location
Around
Lets seeif I can enlighten you a little on prices and leagality.

Motorola APX 7000: about $7000-$10000 depending on who you buy from
Motorola XTS 5000: about $3500-$7000 depedning on who you buy from

Digital Scanners: $450-$625 depending on who you buy from

Digital Scanner: Legal
Digital Radio: Not so legal
 

fourwd1

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2002
Messages
267
Location
Baltimore, MD
Digital Radio: Not so legal
Only if you used it to transmit on a frequency you were not licensed/authorized for (assuming you are refering to a 2-way "Digital Radio". Hams have digital radio.

But the chances of obtaining a Moto or any other professional model public service/business band digital radio programmed for a particular agency (even receive only) is an unlikely as well as costly proposition.
 

Gezelle007

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
1,065
Location
Oregon
Only if you used it to transmit on a frequency you were not licensed/authorized for (assuming you are refering to a 2-way "Digital Radio". Hams have digital radio.

But the chances of obtaining a Moto or any other professional model public service/business band digital radio programmed for a particular agency (even receive only) is an unlikely as well as costly proposition.
Yeah you do have a point there- the chances of getting one and paying alot of money for one are slim, but If you did manage to get one and program it- would you actually pay some huge amount of money just to listen on it....no! haha.
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,288
Location
Arlington, TX
The problem with using a two-way to monitor a Motorola SmartZone system is that even if you never press the PTT, even if PTT is disabled, the radio itself will transmit as soon as you turn it on, and every time you move from one site to another. The two-way radio will affiliate with the site it is currently receiving. As soon as the "illegal" unit ID of your radio shows up on the system, the system admin could transmit a "brick" command effectively disabling the radio from sending or receiving. Not sure if there is any way around this...
 

omg_miiiike

Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2010
Messages
9
Ok I understand for the most part, I have plenty of family that are LEO's but they don't really know too much about them other than that they are issued them lol. So if I did want to pick up a Motorola handheld, I'd be looking at something with high cost? I have just seen youtube videos where some guy has one that he got off of ebay that he can listen to the PD and stuff on. Link below.

YouTube - My radios part 1.mpg

I believe it is the Motorola GP68
 

fd2119

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
129
At least the MTS2000 is analog; I'd assume that the other one, is also. As such, it's not going to do what you want.

Just get a scanner. It'll be less of a headache.
 

maus92

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
3,198
Location
Annapolis
Mike: The radios you referenced above are not compatible with AACo's TRS. I urge you to listen to advice others are giving: buy a digital scanner. The AACo TRS has certain security and audit features that prevent unauthorized access - which basically applies to anyone attempting to use a compatible radio that has not been enabled on the system.
 
Last edited:

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
You're looking at a lot of headaches, take everyone's advise and buy a scanner. The cost of all the equipment to program the Motorola is going to be VERY expensive. The digital radio alone, that's what you'll need to listen to A.A. Co., will cost approximately $3000-$5000. The programming cables could cost an additional $150? depending on your radio model. The software, a legitimate copy, will cost about $300?, and factor in the cost of your computer as well. Oh, and don't forget the cost of additional batteries and chargers for that radio. With all this in hand it's still of no use to you unless you have the system key for the particular system you want to "monitor". Unless you're an AUTHORIZED user on the system there's no way you'll ever get that from the system administrator, which means your radio is useless because you can't program data control channels, talk groups, etc. Programming a commercial radio for a trunked system can be a headache, especially if you don't know what you're doing.

Again, buy a scanner. It's MUCH cheaper, i.e., equipment, software, batteries, etc. And don't forget about the legal fees if you try to access the system without permission.
 

ka8ypy

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2006
Messages
77
Short of it is, you can buy a radio if you want, HOWEVER, most radios capable of listening to AACO will auto affiliate with the system.

Once they have auto affiliated with the system they are essentially logged by the system. If it not an authorized radio for the system, the system administrator can and probably will send a kill command to your radio, thus rendering it inoperable for anything.

At that point, there really is no way to recover the radio short of having the system administrator remove the kill command.

If you disable the transmit capability, the radio will not affiliate, but it may not be able to monitor the system as you would like since it has not affiliated and have the proper information from the control channel.

Buy a scanner, as said before, it's cheaper and less of a headache. Plus you will be able to monitor most of what you want with one piece of equipment, instead of two or three.
 

jparks29

Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2003
Messages
806
Location
Melmac
Short of it is, you can buy a radio if you want, HOWEVER, most radios capable of listening to AACO will auto affiliate with the system.

Once they have auto affiliated with the system they are essentially logged by the system. If it not an authorized radio for the system, the system administrator can and probably will send a kill command to your radio, thus rendering it inoperable for anything.

At that point, there really is no way to recover the radio short of having the system administrator remove the kill command.

If you disable the transmit capability, the radio will not affiliate, but it may not be able to monitor the system as you would like since it has not affiliated and have the proper information from the control channel.

Buy a scanner, as said before, it's cheaper and less of a headache. Plus you will be able to monitor most of what you want with one piece of equipment, instead of two or three.
What he said.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top