• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Need Installation Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Metrofire31

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
966
Location
Auburn-Opelika, AL
I have just purchased a Yaesu FT7800R (with modified freq coverage) and plan to install it in my Mercedes ML-350. However, my questions are almost irregardless of the type vehicle. I plan to mount the remote head on my dash/console on top of my BC-RH96. I'm curious about the best place to mount the radio itself? And also how to connect the electrical wires - should it go to the battery or is it OK to connect in the fuse box? If it's to the battery, I'm not sure the cables they provided are long enough - what is best to use to extend them and how do you connect them?

Lots of questions but I appreciate the advice that's so readily available from all you guys.
 

paramedszaf

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 4, 2008
Messages
0
Location
Kingston, Pa - Luzerne Co.
#1 - a Mercedes WOW!

#2 - Is there an in-line fuse? If so what is the amp rating? How many watts is the radio? Usually a 15 amp will handle it.

#3 - Need pic of the passanger compartment to make a good determination where to mount.
 

n8emr

Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2005
Messages
498
You just dumped $50k plus in to the vehicle. find a two way shop spend a couple hundred bucks and have it done correctly.
 

n9mxq

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 15, 2005
Messages
1,770
Location
Belvidere IL
Under a seat or in the trunk for the main body of the radio.

Run the power straight to the battery will be your best bet. Use wire of the same gauge as the power cable on the radio, or maybe even a tad bigger to run the power.

MAKE SURE IT'S FUSED! Never bypass fuses.

When you get it all done, post up some pictures... I'd love to see the results..(Even if you have a shop do it)
 

Metrofire31

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
966
Location
Auburn-Opelika, AL
Advice

Good advice guys - I'm going to have the local shop install it. They do all the county/city PD cars. Thanks for the super advice.
 

hoser147

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
4,452
Location
Grand Lake St. Marys Ohio
While on the topic of fusing, the commercial outfit that takes care of our radio's fuses the ground also. As far as extending the power and ground wires its no big deal, if you have any experience in installing at all you should be able to do it yourself, however if you are not comfortable with that it would be best to have it done............Hoser
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top