• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

New Federal P-25 9600 system readout

Status
Not open for further replies.

Curfew

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
124
Here is the data from this site. I would like to know what i need set the pro96 to exacty ie. function 8 (fleetmap programming) , function 4 table/extended table/ normal , function 2 base, offset - and what i need to load into the extended tables of win96 for programming in case i have to do this to track this thing. Im not smart enough to figure out fleetmap or all the conversions if in fact it needs this, i only have basic knowledge of only some of the fundamentals so far.

I noticed with the win96 there are only 5 or 6 tables that can be customized in the extended tables area, hoping there is a way to squeeze 12 somehow in those if this needs to happen and then programmed into the scanner. There are 15 tables below and it appears 3 are unused. As far as how many tables and the unknown data i will need to program and have the thing track i don't know.

For those of you who think this is easy, please speak up and explain exactly what needs to happen.

Again i sure would love to track this thing without toggling scan to find someone's voice that has jumped to another frequency. Thanks, John.

This is the readout from the pro96com cc monitor-


system id: Site ID: WACN: Status:

CH FREQ
12-2193 163.4125 control
12-2317 164.9625 alternate control
12-2321 165.0125 voice
12-2335 165.1875 voice
12-2353 165.4125 voice
12-2418 166.2250 voice


ID BASE SPACING TX offset
00 851.00625 .00625 -45.0000
01 762.00625 .00625 30.0000
02 136.00000 .01250 7.12500
03 136.00000 .01250 7.18750
04 136.00000 .01250 7.58750
05 136.00000 .01250 7.62500
06 136.00000 .01250 7.80000
 
Last edited:

Curfew

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
124
This one is military i think, im not sure yet. It's in the southeast .
 
Last edited:

ChrisP

Member
Joined
May 20, 2002
Messages
1,130
Location
Portland, OR
johnabraham said:
All 50 states. DOD, DOJ, DHS, DOT,DOI, DOA. All departments.
I think he meant where are you hearing this particular site?

I've been curious also. The frequencies are all Department of Energy allocations, so I assumed this might be a DoE system. But johnabraham, you've been very hesitant to tell us where exactly this site is located...

A hint? What state at least?

As a side note, I had been working on trying to program the PRO-96 to deal with the Jutice Department's testbed trunked system in Washington State for a while (http://www.radioreference.com/modules.php?name=RR&sid=3509), as it has a similar base / offset table layout.
But since I found that the Uniden 796D, 396Tand 996T all track it just fine without any special tables, I've been using the PRO-96 only for the PRO96COM software.


- Chris
 
Last edited:

mikey60

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
3,533
Location
Oakland County Michigan
From the information you posted, this particular site is currently only using table 12... This will make it easy to program into the Pro-96. If they start using more tables then you're going to have to have WIN96 to program it.

The channel numbers you posted are made of two parts, the table number, and then the channel number within that table. Each table can have a maximum of 4096 channels. The channel 12-2193 would be table 12, channel 2193.

The Pro-96 doesn't understand the table/channel concept. It only knows channel numbers 0 through 65535. To get the specific channel numbers you need to use, some math needs to be done.

The pro96 uses a system of high and low channel ranges. To get the low channel, multiply the table number by 4096 (in this case, 12 * 4096 = 49152). The high channel would be the low channel plus 4095 or 53247 in this case.

Now that we have the high and low channel, we need the base frequency and the spacing between channels to be able to track this site. Spacing in this case is 12.5khz, and the base is 136.0000Mhz. The offset field in the WIN96 program should be set the same as the channel Low.

So the table needed to track this site based on the information provided is:

Offset: 49152
Ch Lo: 49152
Ch Hi: 53247
Base: 136.000
Step: 12.5

If the site starts using other tables, or other sites start using other tables, then they will need to be added to the multi table area.

If the system starts to use more than 6 tables, you'll have to use two banks to be able to track it properly (one bank with some of the tables, another with the rest of them)

Mike
 

ChrisP

Member
Joined
May 20, 2002
Messages
1,130
Location
Portland, OR
mikey60 said:
The Pro-96 doesn't understand the table/channel concept. It only knows channel numbers 0 through 65535. To get the specific channel numbers you need to use, some math needs to be done.
Thanks for that very easy-to-understand explaination, Mike.

Now that I know what I'm looking for I went over the PRO96COM files for the VHF Justice system near me and discovered that some sites are using just 1 table, but some are showing up to 4 tables being used.

Thanks again!

- Chris
 

mikey60

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
3,533
Location
Oakland County Michigan
Not a problem. Some thanks also goes to Kikito (I think I spelled that right) as he and I figured out what was needed on these systems back before the first public release of Pro96Com. That seems like a long time ago now.

Mike
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top