New ham, haven't seen a rule regarding this question so I'll ask here...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all, I'm still pretty new to amateur radio but I'm pretty familiar with how 2m repeaters work, or rather, how to use them. What I'm wondering about is something a little different that I can't seem to find very much info on. So, I have a friend who is also a ham, who lives a certain distance away. This distance is far enough from my local repeater that he can pretty clearly hear me talk on the repeater, but is far enough away that he usually can't get into the repeater, or if he can, it repeats nothing but noise. Then, just the opposite is true on his end. I can hear him on his local repeater but it is too far for me to hit it. So my thinking is, I could tx on my local repeater which he could hear me on, and rx on his local repeater which I can hear him on. In this way we could communicate between our houses using two repeaters. However, someone listening to either repeater would only hear one half of the conversation... whuch seems like it would not be allowed, but I haven't seen anything referring to this anywhere... does anyone know if this is allowed or has anyone tried it before?
Thanks!
Jacob
KC9YWA

n4yek

I refer to those type of repeaters as 'alligator repeaters', All mouth and no ears, transmitting farther than the need to be doing.
While I don't think there is an FCC rule saying you could not do this, the repeater owners probably wouldn't like it as they do own the equipment you are utilizing. You would be utilizing 2 repeaters that might be popular with lots of users and they would definitely say something.
On band openings, I have talked on repeaters hundreds of miles away on the same repeater frequency. While I could hear it, others could not. They would hear me talking as I was keying up the local repeater but could not hear who I was talking with.