New HAM trying to get setup - it's a PROJECT...

true911

Premium Subscriber
Hi to everyone, I've been a Tech for about 10 years mainly because I was drone flying and transmitting video. I recently passed my general and extra tests and went and bought myself my first rig, a DX10 and an EFH antenna that had some good reviews and testing for the 40/20/10 meter bands. I thought this would be enough to get off the ground and I could improve things as I go.

Well not so much. I live in a tight urban area in Baltimore, MD. My EFH is not that high and slopes down to about 10' above ground at the end of my yard. Noise floor around here is INSANE. Also SWR is not right. I wanted to connect a counterpoise to this antenna but there doesn't appear to be a dedicated connection for that. Can I attach directly to the outer screw/sheath on the cable connector somehow?

Despite the tests I saw, this antenna is only showing <2 SWR in small parts of the 10 and 20M bands, and nothing below 5 on 40. Finally grounding. My Samlex p/s is three prong so it forgoes any dedicated grounding screws, and I know I need to get it on a common ground with my radio. Finally common currents, I don't know what's coming back up the line from my antenna nor what choke to buy. I don't want to try to loop my coax around a doughnut at this point, things are still moving around too much. I'd like some recommendations for clip on ferrites if anyone has used them.

Also I'm currently running LMR-240, again, hoping to get started. I know the expensive stuff is out there, but I want to get a working layout first before I measure and cut any of that stuff for my final install.

I'm sure there's more, but that's what I have for now. Looking forward to the feedback and suggestions! Thanks.

true911

Premium Subscriber