New Live Feed coming from unstaffed location

Status
Not open for further replies.

IFDret103

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
13
Location
Bloomington, Minnesota
I' wanting to get a feel for how much interaction is required for keeping a live feed up and online 24/7. My feed would originate from a building that has no one there at times. Will this be problematic?

Thanks,
IFDret103
 

brandon

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,462
Location
SoCal
One of my feeds originates from the electrical room in a warehouse. The building is staffed but I have not had to make any unexpected visits in over a year.

Some tips

  • Install remote control software such as LogMeIn. It also has a feature to "hard reset" the computer in case of lock up.
  • Enable automatic power on in BIOS in case of power failure.
  • Enable Wake-on-LAN to power up in case somebody shuts computer off.
  • Use Hamachi VPN (free) to setup a backup method of remote access.
  • Consider using a Thin Client instead of regular PC. They are small and have no moving parts to fail (e.g.: fans, hard drives, etc.)
  • Power switches that can be controlled over the Internet.

I'm sure there are other suggestions folks may have, but these can help get you started.
 

NYRHKY94

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
1,356
Location
Brunswick County, NC
Brandon's suggestions are right on the money, with the key being remote access software (more than 1 method is preferred). One of my feeds is located in a house in another state, and I use the following 3 remote access tools to control & maintain the scanner/feed:

1. LogMeIn (free)
2. UltraVNC (free)
3. Windows RDP (free)

As long as I have power and/or internet at the remote location, there is no human involvement needed on the other end.
 

Tweekerbob

Member
Joined
May 27, 2004
Messages
617
In addition to remote control software, it's also a good idea to have all of the necessary software required to run your feed to automatically start-up upon a reboot.
 

SCPD

QRT
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Be careful with Windows RDP as it will try to move the audio to the client PC and will disrupt the entire feed (and at times make it hard to connect) - for managing the feed (or the computer for that matter), I'll stick to LogMeIn (as I use that) or UltraVNC. Windows RDP is best client for other scenarios!
 

K4IHS

Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
Messages
688
Location
Charlotte, NC
My feed is in the corner of my garage with a good UPS. It might as well be on the side of a mountain. It rarely needs any human interaction.
 

VFN05

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
62
Location
Norfolk, VA
I have a similar setup to Ralph, and use gbridge (also free) for remote access. While it does not have the hard reset feature of LogMeIn, it has worked well for me.
 

cgriggs

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
135
Location
Mitylene, AL
I also use AutoHotKey to automate tasks such as killing programs and re-opening them. I use this in conjunction with scheduled tasks as well.

I second VNC, specifically UltraVNC.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top