~New~ Need to purchase Radio... Help?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

lakeeri7

Premium Subscriber
Hello,

I am looking for anyone out there that may be able to help. I live in Fremont, Ohio and my brother and I own a snow removal company. This year we have signed a contract with Sandusky County Regional Airport and we are needing to purchase a Aircraft Scanner but that can also talk with the planes as well. (Just in case we are on the runway and someone wants to land)

I have very little knowledge with regular police scanners but have no clue with Aviation Scanner/Radios. Can someone please give me a recommendation of what sort of radio we may need. The only time we will be using this radio is when snow falls and we are plowing, so nothing to fancy is needed.

All help is greatly appreciated!

W2NJS

You don't need a scanner. You need a two-way aircraft radio so you can talk to the tower when they want you to get out of the way. Your safest bet would be to find out who handles the radio chores/sales for the airport's current fleet of vehicles and contact that company to find out what you need and to handle the FCC paperwork involved.

Iron Triangle Ohio... otherweise known as Fostoria
Reguarding your purchase of a scanner, Any good analog scanner will do fine for monitoring air traffic. I would suggest that you get one with an alphanumeric display so that you can assign a text tag to the corrosponding frequency for easy identification.

Your other option is purchasing any newer type of scanner that has the air band pre programmed into a search bank (Most these days do) The radioshack pro-97 analog is a good scanner to use. The only problem is that your audio is not all that great.