New Scanner Purchase Opinions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MisterK33

Hello everyone,

I have a GRE PSR500 that I bought about 9 years ago and use all the time, but I'm getting the itch to purchase a new scanner. It's pretty much coming down to the SDS 100 or BCD 436HP. I don't see that there's a lot of simulcast in RI (unless I missed something), and the majority of features the SDS 100 has the BCD 436HP has as well. Yeah, the color screen is nice, but the optional upgrades look like they're available (DMR, etc...) if I needed to upgrade, and saving $150 isn't a bad option...

Any thoughts? I mostly listen to RISCON, and traditional analog public safety frequencies at work. Thanks in advance!

danwilks84

Premium Subscriber
Unless I am mistaken, RISCON is a simulcast system so you would want a scanner that handles simulcast well if you are primarily listening to RISCON.

I have been running the SDS 100 for about 3 months now and it works great with RISCON. I can't speak to the 436HP.

jgorman21

Premium Subscriber
My PSR 500 still is one of my faves. Do some research with others in your area. I have an SDS 100. I’m still Learning things 4-5 months later. I have a Unication G5 that is stellar on simulcast sites. Maybe pair the PSR 500 with a pager? Everyone is different.

I have to be honest - and I’m trying to stay positive. For the money and for me the SDS 100 is really not a great receiver

W1KNE

Owner ScanNewEngland
Database Admin
I don't see that there's a lot of simulcast in RI (unless I missed something),

Any thoughts? I mostly listen to RISCON, and traditional analog public safety frequencies at work. Thanks in advance!

RISCON is heavily simulcast and I speak from lots of first hand experience, if you're in the Providence area, you will experience simulcast distortion. Having lived in East Providence and spending a lot of time there still, I can tell you, that my SDS-100 blows the 536 in my car away with the reception of RISCON.

MisterK33