• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

New (to me) APX Radio - cannot transmit on -p25 conventional

Status
Not open for further replies.

gip127

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
30
Location
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
I bought an APX7000. It transmits fine on analog UHF/VHF. I tried transmitting on UHF conventional p25 and nothing comes across any other radio. I tried using three. The radio receives p25 conventional no problem.

Thoughts?

Time for a refund?
 

K2NEC

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
1,784
You checked all of your personalities right? All the correct conventional personalities are in the right zone channel assignments? And the right conventional frequencies are selected in the table?
 

gip127

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
30
Location
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
You checked all of your personalities right? All the correct conventional personalities are in the right zone channel assignments? And the right conventional frequencies are selected in the table?
Yes, I checked the codeplug over and had a buddy check it too. Everything is right
 

MTS2000des

5B2_BEE00 Czar
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
3,733
Location
Cobb County, GA Stadium Crime Zone
Sounds like an alignment may be in order. P25 alignment is critical, a 100KHz off freq on analog won't really affect performance, but will render BER so high on P25 you get nothing. When was the last time the radio was aligned?
 

gip127

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
30
Location
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Sounds like an alignment may be in order. P25 alignment is critical, a 100KHz off freq on analog won't really affect performance, but will render BER so high on P25 you get nothing. When was the last time the radio was aligned?
Unsure. The radio keys up, you see the red light/tx symbol but no other radio receives it...
 

N4DES

0598 Czar
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,225
Location
South FL
Unsure. The radio keys up, you see the red light/tx symbol but no other radio receives it...
If you open the squelch on one of the other radios do you hear anything?
My thought is the direct frequency is still the default and the box is checked in the personality.
 

chrismol1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
439
yep.

I have a DiagnostX on my trunking system that flags any RID with high BER or freq drift. as little as 50Hz and BER starts climbing.
I wonder, will there ever be the day we see Autotune - Over The Air, it would keep adjusting and TX feedback until it hits the values it needs while using LTE or something as a secondary feedback line. I have no idea if that'd ever be feasible. That'd be an advancement, sorta like apx next lte programming anywhere, things are different than the old days. Its still cool to me, to program my XPR7550e over wifi without touching a cable to it
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top