ProScan: New to Proscan - need a little help

jackmail226

I am new to Proscan and I was hoping to get some help with what looks to be a fantastic add on to the scanner.

I’ve downloaded the software trial but confused about certain aspects of the configuration, using BDC536HP

The main feature that I wish to get correct is setting things up with a client so I can listen using a laptop in another part of the home. At this time I am not concerned about accessing my scanner from outside my home network.

Here’s how I have it set up now:

USB cable connected from Scanner to Laptop #1 with the full version installed.

Laptop #2 in another room with the free Client 17.5.

All is working and I am receiving audio and the image of the scanner on the remote PC (Laptop #2), but with my limited experience --- it took a while!

The question I have is that the notes somewhere on the site seem to indicate that I have to utilize the IP address for the Bearcat Wi-Fi Dongle as reported from the menu on the scanner. I could get no connection when putting the dongle IP address alone in nor with the longer address starting with rstp followed by the ip and au:scanner.au address.

I finally got “connection” when I actually tried using the IP address of the laptop #1 in which the full version is installed on.

So my question is --- am I using this correctly or is there a better way? Perhaps I should connect directly to the Dongle. Right now the scanner is in “infrastructure mode”.

Any information as to If my connection is correct or other suggestions greatly appreciated.

Thanks

J

freqseeker

I haven't used the free client. Once you buy the software you are allowed to use it on two computers. I use the RSOIP "remote scanner over ip"
feature and set the computer connected to the scanner as server and my laptop is set as the client.
Here is a link to a good write up on the proscan.org website written by RR user NYRHKY94 for setting up RSOIP. RSOIP link