New to Radios - How to Begin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liquidtravel

Premium Subscriber
Hello all,

First let me say I am currently studying for my Technician's test. I hope to have passed the test by the end of the year.

Having said that, I do have a question about getting started once I have my license. I currently have 2 BaoFeng UV-5R radios and want to use those specifically when on the road or when camping, hiking, etc...

I know the range for the BaoFengs is modest to say the least and have already ordered a much better antenna for both.

I have also been looking for references to repeaters in my area and have programmed 1 in each radio. That one is too far from my home however and I can't pick it up it seems.

Anyway, am I right in thinking that is I want to use these radios while hiking or camping (plan on going to the Grand Canyon in Jan) that I would first need to see what repeaters on available where I am going, how far they are from specifically where I will be and if appropriate, program those repeaters into my radios?

During those times I am really just wanting to use them for emergencies, specifically if I don't have cell coverage.

Am I thinking about this in the right way? As I said, I am very new to learning about any of this so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Lastly, I want to get a better radio for the house. Any suggestions for a beginning radio and antenna, that my HOA will not yell at me about?

thanks so much.

w2xq

Mentor
Welcome to the world of amateur radio.

This Q&A -- https://www.buytwowayradios.com/blo...rogram_the_baofeng_uv-5r_from_the_keypad.html -- may help in programming your radio by hand. The "comments" below also address a question of using the radios outside the 2m and 70cm bands.