New to scanners - central FL, near UCF

Status
Not open for further replies.

Geoff321

Hello, I am new to scanners and last night got a RadioShack PRO-164. I had a giftcard from this past x-mas that has been sitting in my wallet. My weather radio (several years old) crapped out over the weekend and I figured I would go pick up a new one on Monday night. The store was pretty busy, lots of people getting weather radios and they were sold out of all but the hand-cranked redcross one. I started to look at the scanners. I figured I would loose the "standby" alert, but the sales person explained I could put the scanner in a "sleep" mode as long as it was turned on and it would alert with the same county code I program in like my old desktop weather radio would do. He would give me a deal (10% off) since it was his last one in stock. Anyway, I have wanted a scanner ever since I was a kid (Im 25 now) so I figured why not.

Well I get the thing home and turn it on and start reading the manual. First I program the weather part with the right codes. Then I setup the "SkyWarn" function. I found this forum looking for information on trunking and how to set it up as the manual for my scanner is only so-so. I think my technical skill is good enough to take on setting this stuff up, but its all new stuff for me so I will need to read up on it more...and right now I cant get much to work.

I have the list of trunking signals in my area (from this website) and when I follow the instructions to get it going, the scanner seems to ask some questions that are not covered steps in the manual.

Also, I was sad to read that all the OPD stuff is now digital and encrypted, as well as the OFD being digital now.

If anyone else knows about working with this scanner (or one similar), could you point me to a place I can read up on setting the scanner to listen to the list of local trunking signals.