New to Scanners Help :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

coryw

I'm new to scanners and just picked up a SDS100. I'm trying to figure out if I have a setting wrong, bad reception, or something is wrong with the unit.
I pretty much bought this scanner just to listen to Ramsey County (mostly St. Paul Police). Just for testing purposes I removed the favorites list I made and just used the full data base scan, than I locked it in on the Allied Radio Matrix ARMOR system, than I just let it scan the channels. I'm only getting a MNDOT chatter every once and a while and maybe a State Patrol here and there. I did also make sure all the LAW services were on in the "select service". Also set my zip code and did tried various ranges (10, 15, 30,50). Nothing seems to change. If I could just get the Ramsey County channels to work, I'd be happy :). I'm about 2 miles from the Ramsey County border, is it possible I am too far away? I feel like I'd still be picking up Washington County and surrounding area law channels. (I also made sure the database and firmware was up to date when I got it) Any insight would be very much appreciated.

bearcatrp

Premium Subscriber
Allot of the locals went full encryption around the cities. Don’t live down there so others could chime in to verify this. Am up by St. Cloud. I hear part of the county folks down there on armer with my SDS 200. I set my distance to 10 miles and still pickup up stuff down there on the west side. Make sure your tac service is on besides all the police services. If your close to town with allot of high buildings around you, that blocks signals. When your not working, go to a big open area not far from your home to see if your hearing more.

coryw