New to scanners - inherited equip, questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.

M3Man03

Hello, I'm new to modern scanning stuff and have some questions. I had my HAM tech license a long time ago and am going to get it again soon, but am mainly interested in setting up a scanning system for police/fire/etc. The biggest question I have is the digital trunking. I have a bunch of nice, but older, inherited equipment and I am wondering if any of it can be used to do scanning of police digital trunking frequencies.

Here's what I have:

ICOM IC-R100 Scanner
Kenwood TM-732A Transceiver

And my old handheld, a Yeasu FT-50R.

From the database, my local PD runs on 155.49000mhz with a Law-Tac system, which I believe utilizes the digital trunking.

If none of what I have would work for this, what's the least expensive way to get into a decent scanner that will receive the digital trunking signals? Thanks for any help!

wyShack

Premium Subscriber
Welcome to the hobby (or obsession;)

With just a single frequency, it does not seem likely it is digital and trunked radio is basically a system to share a few frequencies with many users. If you would give a location, more help can be given. or just check the listing inn the database for your area (FM or NFM is analog). NFM can be received on the older scanners, it does 'sound' lower and may require you to adjust the volume.

N8IAA

Hello, I'm new to modern scanning stuff and have some questions. I had my HAM tech license a long time ago and am going to get it again soon, but am mainly interested in setting up a scanning system for police/fire/etc. The biggest question I have is the digital trunking. I have a bunch of nice, but older, inherited equipment and I am wondering if any of it can be used to do scanning of police digital trunking frequencies.

Here's what I have:

ICOM IC-R100 Scanner
Kenwood TM-732A Transceiver

And my old handheld, a Yeasu FT-50R.