New to Scanning in OC - Suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blakex

So I'm new to this whole thing, been wanting to scan local police/fire for a while now. I'm currently located pretty much in the middle of the City of Orange and looking mainly to scan Orange PD. This page has all the local OC agencies listed, but I can't quite decipher what these mean:

55200 d7a E GREEN-1 Orange Law Dispatch
55232 d7c E GREEN-2 Orange Law Tac
55264 d7e E GREEN-3 Orange Law Tac

Are these Digital APCO-25? The page says Orange uses "Analog and APCO-25 Common Air Interface." So at this point, if I can avoid spending $500 for a digital scanner, that'd be great, but I also don't want to waste $200 if the Orange PD might upgrade in a year...so just looking for advice.

What would you recommend for my first scanner? I'm pretty tech-oriented (as I'm sure most who take up scanning are), so I'm hoping I can figure out whatever programming needs to be done.

And lastly, for those who might be from Orange, are the feeds pretty easy to pick up? I'm also interested in the Sherriff (as they patrol some surrounding areas) and the FD and CHP if they happen to drive within range.

Thanks!

jrholm

Almost all law enforcement in Orange County is encrypted so there is no legal way of monitoring it. You can monitor fire.

Mick