New To Scanning, What Scanner Do You Recommend?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeremy1873

Hi, I'm new to scanners and I'm just starting out for the first time. I'm looking for hand held radio that scans fire/ems/police traffic and that is compatible with those areas/links down below. Which scanners would be good for an ammeter and that isn't extremely expensive. If you mind listing them for the lowest price recommend scanner, to the medium priced recommended scanner, then to the highest priced recommend scanner so I can get general idea. Thank you so much.

ramblin82

If simulcast isn't an issue then the cheapest handheld is the BCD325P2, which can also do NXDN & DMR with paid upgrade. The next expensive scanner would be the BCD436HP which can also do NXDN & DMR. The most expensive is the SDS100 which can do all the modes the other two can plus handle simulcast. Here's the current prices bare without any extra paid accessories. It's cheaper to purchase the digital upgrades from " myUniden - Customer Product Registration and Support Area " and put in the keys yourself. You could also check into the Whistler TRX-1 handheld. The Icom IC-R30 is expensive but doesn't do trunking, simulcast, or DMR.

1. BCD325P2 ($340.99 Bearcat Warehouse)
2. BCD436HP ($455.99 Bearcat Warehouse)
3. SDS100 ($649.99 Bearcat Warehouse, handles simulcast)

Last edited:

Jeremy1873