New to TN, RTL-SDR, Scanning & Radio

Status
Not open for further replies.

SilentJim1980

Premium Subscriber
Hello,

Newbie here & looking for any tips 'n tricks that could be helpful in setting me up.
I've always had a CB in any of my vehicles, a weather radio for storms 'n such. One thing I've never had (until recently is a scanner). I purchased a whistler handheld scanner a few years ago with the intent to listen to local police/fire/ems. However, I couldn't get it to function properly & lost interest.

Recently moved to middle Tennessee & due to some projects related to the 7 Raspberry Pi's that I have been working on I came across a few tutorials on the RTL-SDR setups made with them & it's rekindled my interest in radio scanning. However, I'm looking to get set up with my extra Windows 10 PC.

My goal is to be able to use the 4 RTL-SDR's I've purchased to listen to local PD/FD/EMS/AIR (non-encrypted & Trunked systems).

What I've purchased is the following:
2x (1 on hand & 1 on the way for trunk listening) - RTL-SDR Blog V3 R820T2 RTL2832U 1PPM TCXO HF Bias Tee SMA Software Defined Radio with Dipole Antenna Kit

1x Nooelec NESDR Smart v4 Bundle - Premium RTL-SDR w/Aluminum Enclosure, 0.5PPM TCXO, SMA Input & 3 Antennas. RTL2832U & R820T2-Based Software Defined Radio

(on the way)
1x -
FlightAware Pro Stick Plus ADS-B USB Receiver with Built-in Filter
& an antenna onelinkmore 1090Mhz Antenna MCX Plug Connector 2.5dbi Gains ADS-B Aerial with Magnet Base RG174 1M+MCX Female to SMA Male Adapter Connector

The RTL-SDR blog v3 that I have on hand I've so far used to only be able to receive FM & Weather station signals. I believe this is due to at the moment I can only place the antenna by a window. Renting a home & the nearest exterior exit is 150 ft away. It's an older home & the windows are old & in pretty bad shape, enough so that I'm afraid to even open them for fear of them breaking.