New to Uniden BCD996 XT

Status
Not open for further replies.

LT1

Premium Subscriber
Hi out there, as many others, I am completely new to the more modern and complex scanners. I was able to scrape along with my PRO-2067 here on Cape Cod so I could listen to the local PD and FD. I now have the new 996XT and I am just looking at it, on my desk, lol. It is heavy, and makes a great paperwieght, but that really isn't why I purchased it....Is there a way just to get started in the right direction? I printed Mark's East to read manual, but at my age, I am still rather lost. I have not purchased a cable or software yet because I may just pack it up and send back. If anyone could help me to get going in a positive direction with this unit, that would be great. Thank you, Larry T.

LordJ

I would suggest PROSCAN software coupled with a Radio Reference Membership. (There is other software, even free ones) This will help you program the scanner. Even better, it will let you look at what's already programmed to get some idea of what's going on in there..The worst thing you could do would be to abandon it...It's a bit of a learning curve, but once you pick it up, you will love it!!!!

kirk23

Pierrefonds (West Island Montreal) Qc Canada
Larry...
I would download freescan..1st its free. But you still need the RS232 cable/adaptor.
Fot help. Google 396xt on you tube. There are several good videos that show you how to operate and program your radio..
Be patient.. its totally different from the old scanners. I have had it for almost 2 yrs qnd i am still learning new things all the time

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
This article from our wiki has links to just about everything you need to get you started. You've already found the Easier to Read manual, but there are several other things you need to know...

Program your DMA Scanner - The RadioReference Wiki