New User Saying Hello

Status
Not open for further replies.

N8PZT

Hello,

I ran across this forum when I started considering using higher end radio equipment for my amateur activities--which I am still considering. Due to mission-type differences, there is much to research and learn, and that is why I'm here.

I am considering a purchase of an APX 7000, programmed strictly for Amateur use, later in the year. I'm interested in the UHF-1/VHF model. I don't have a need for 700/800 trunking, and am not really much for scanning other bands for which I am not authorized.

I have a very strict ethic on this, and am a legal eagle, relative to most things. I do my research before jumping into the radio waters, and value my privileges greatly. That said, I do enjoy listening to public service activity at home, sometimes, and have a bearcat scanner that doesn't do too badly.

--

Now, a little bit about myself and my interests:

My name is Stephen Brown. I've been an Amateur since 1991. My call sign is N8PZT. and I hold the Amateur General Class license. I am domociled in Jefferson City, Missouri.

I'm happily betrothed :), and have been married to 'My Life' (Wife) for just a little over six years now.

Education-wise, I'm a full-time, 100% online college student, attending Jones International University; I am pursuing a degree in Business Administration-Generalist. This is a four-year, Bachelor's degree program. I intend on focusing on entrepreneurial activities (business ownership) later in my program--or perhaps sooner, depending on markets and personal interests.

Employment-wise, I'm a contract computer technician. I work primarily with specialized staffing agencies that contract with independent technicians, like myself. My main focus is the hardware end of things. I'm not involved with any computer programming at this juncture, although I am pursuing the interest. Some languages of focus are C, C++, Java, Python, Perl, and Ruby/Rails/Ruby-On-Rails.